Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server (1053 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Christophe Voutat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 1 of 9 (1,120 Views)
Accepted Solution

[Resolved] Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

I have a Windows 2008 R2 Server with Data Protector 6.21 with all the last patch. If I try to deploy the patch on the remote Server, in Data Protector in the Section "Client", with the option "Upgrade",  or if I Check the Installation on a remote Server or on the Backup Server, the Session is aborted after one second only, see the attachment.

 

In log only this info:

 

[] From: @ ""  Time:


============================================================================
                      Session aborted!
============================================================================

 

Can anybody help me?

 

Thanks Christophe

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 2 of 9 (1,076 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Hello

 

Do you have the same issue with more clients or just this one?

 

Please check file C:\ProgramData\OmniBack\log\IS_install.log

Occasional Advisor
Christophe Voutat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 3 of 9 (1,055 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Hello,

 

Thanks for your answer.

 

I have ~25 client and I have the same problem on all client server. I install the patch manually on all server, but I want to make now the upgrade on the version 7.

 

I check the IS_install.txt file, but the last Line was in February 2012. They is no new info.

 

but in the same Directory in the debug.txt log I found this Error:

 

23.04.2013 15:22:56  INET_thread_bm.exe.5708.4484 ["/lib/cmn/win32exe.c $Rev: 35316 $ $Date:: 2012-12-28 12:03:40":403] A.06.20 b408
[CmnCreateProcess]: CreateProcess failed: [1314] A required privilege is not held by the client.

 

I search now with privilege is missing on my server. If you have a Idea you are welcome

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 4 of 9 (1,053 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Hello

 

Under which user is running Data Protector CRS service? Please check that is running under administrator user.

 

The privilege needed are:

 

Act as part of operating system

Replace a process level token

Occasional Advisor
Christophe Voutat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 5 of 9 (1,051 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Data Protector CRS Service is running with a Domain User who is in the same Groups as the Administrator. I put now this privilege to this user in DP server and on the remote server but it got alwas the same error.

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 6 of 9 (1,048 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Please restart DP services after change privileges.

Occasional Advisor
Christophe Voutat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 7 of 9 (1,046 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

All DP service was restartet after the change of privilege.

 

I check too the omniinetpasswd -list and my user is in the list and selected for the installation.

 

Data Protector Inet service is running too with the same user

Data Protector UIP service is running too with the same user

Data Protector RDS service is running with the Local System account

 

In Data Protector Manager, under the Users, the same user is as CRS service account.

Occasional Advisor
Christophe Voutat
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-26-2011
Message 8 of 9 (1,043 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

OK it's working now.

 

What I do:

 

- I change the privilege from my user in the AD. This user was only in the Domain Admins group. I put it in the same group like the Administrator, plus I add it in the Backup Operators group

- I put the privilege like say, "Act as part of operating system" and "Replace a process level token"

- I put the privilege "Back up Files and directories" like I found in this old kb (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/272587/en-us). It's a old kb for Windows 2000 but it's help in my case

- I check the install user who is used in DP for remote install like the article: http://thebraveadmin.wordpress.com/2010/08/19/data-protector-agent-windows-2008-cannot-connect-to-th...

- I restart one time more all DP service

 

Now I can Check a installation on a remote server and I can install the patch on the remote server

 

Thanks for your help ;)

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 9 of 9 (1,038 Views)

Re: Data Protector 6.21, cannot deploy patch on remote server

Nice¡¡¡ you are welcome.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.