Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes (951 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
Viktor F.
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎03-06-2005
Message 1 of 8 (1,052 Views)
Accepted Solution

Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

we're experiencing a strange problem and I'd be thankful if you can please help me.

We have DP 6.20 (Win 2003) and HP MSL4048 Library with 2 LTO3 Drives.

 

All bands on the library are in the same pool.

It always comes an error message:
    Mount request for any medium (blank or without protection):
        Device          : LTO3-1-1
        Host            : server.firma.de
        Slot            : 1
    ___________________________________________________________________

 

But the tape in slot 1 is full and protected. The other slots have free bands from this pool. Both drives have this pool as default.

Why?

 

THanks

Viktor

Honored Contributor
Eblyn Solis
Posts: 1,334
Registered: ‎10-19-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,040 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Hi,

 

Don't use default, go to every drive on backup specifacation and select the correct pool

 

Untitled.png

Frequent Advisor
Viktor F.
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎03-06-2005
Message 3 of 8 (1,000 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Thanks.

I tried it out on weekends. Not worked

 

[Warning] From: BSM@firma.domain.de "AServ"  Time: 10.12.2012 08:57:01
    Medium "db01010a:4fbb9736:205c:0001" in device "LTO3-1-2"
    in the pool "LTO3-1" cannot be appended.
    Medium label is: "[TW0388LT]"

 

TW0388LT T is full. but  TW0390LT is free:

 

 

 

Drive 'LTO3-1-2' hat pool 'LTO3-1' als default pool.

 

 

And The Pool 'LTO3-1' has the following bands:

 

ThX

Viktor

 

 

Respected Contributor
drpixel
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎06-11-2010
Message 4 of 8 (994 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Hello,

Can you confirm that your tape are in good condition ? You'll find the information on the pool list
Regards,

Christophe
Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 5 of 8 (988 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Hello

 

Please check if tapes inside LTO3-1 has order number, also please paste output for command

 

omnimm -list_pool "LTO3-1"

 

 

Frequent Advisor
Viktor F.
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎03-06-2005
Message 6 of 8 (982 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Here ( the part):

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 7 of 8 (980 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Hello

 

OK tape available has teh string WP, it means write protected. Not sure if tapes has been protected pishicaly if not this was a known issue with DP 6.11 so you are using DP 6.20

 

As workaround you can use this command

 

omnimm -reset_wp_medium Medium

 

Also please install last set of patches for DP 6.20

 

If issue still remain you will need to open a support call for to get special fix.

Frequent Advisor
Viktor F.
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎03-06-2005
Message 8 of 8 (951 Views)

Re: Mount request, but Media pool has enough free tapes

Thahks to all

 

to work. Backup running.

 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

 

Viktor

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.