Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4) (540 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 1 of 11 (540 Views)

Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

I have 2 LTO3 tape with several sessions and I want to move to a single LTO4 tape. I have used the Media Copy option and copy has been correct.

My idea is to export the 2 old LTO3 tapes and leave only the new LTO4 in the IDB.

I have a serious problem to restore since the new sessions do not appear in "Restore Sessions" and I can not restore with "file system" neither.

 

I have tried, within the Restore, the option "List from media" and takes about 10 hours, but sessions does not appear in the "Restore Sessions".

How can I restore taking as origin the new tape and sessions?

Thank you!

 

My DP is 7.01.

HP Expert
Bob_Clark
Posts: 1,428
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Message 2 of 11 (532 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

If you go to the Internal Database context in the GUI, can you see the session ID?

 

If you know the session ID, you can run

 

omnidb -session [session _id] -detail           to see if there are any objects there, and their protection status

                 Do not include the [   ] marks

omnidb -session [session_id] -media           If this shows anything, does it show the LTO-3, the LTO-4 or both, or neither?

 

I checked if Object Copy would work, normally, the copy is done after backing up to disk, where you want to copy to tape.  I did not see anything specifically prohibiting using a physical tape drive as a source, but have never done this myself

 

If nothing else works, are you able to do a temporary restore, then do a backup of the restored files? This is the worst kind of kludge, but, it would accomplish what you want

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 3 of 11 (516 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

Thanks.

 

Yes, in the IDB, I can view the session ID.

 

The first command works OK.

 

Object name : bkvirtuales.aduci.int:/C 'Backup Virtuales'
        Object type        : WinFS
        Object status      : Completed
        Started            : miércoles, 14 de abril de 2010, 13:08:49
        Finished           : lunes, 17 de junio de 2013, 21:26:19
        Object size        : 22248820 KB
        Backup type        : Full
        Protection         : Protected permanently
        Catalog retention  : Same as data protection.
        Version type       : Normal
        Access             : Private
        Number of warnings : 0
        Number of errors   : 0
        Device name        : CINTALOCAL LTO4
        Backup ID          : n/a
        Copy ID            : 186 (Orig)
        Encrypted          : No
        DiskAgent ID       : 1371485565

Object name : bkvirtuales.aduci.int:/C 'Backup Virtuales'
        Object type        : WinFS
        Object status      : Completed
        Started            : jueves, 15 de abril de 2010, 17:59:03
        Finished           : martes, 18 de junio de 2013, 08:46:59
        Object size        : 32976094 KB
        Backup type        : Full
        Protection         : Protected permanently
        Catalog retention  : Same as data protection.
        Version type       : Normal
        Access             : Private
        Number of warnings : 0
        Number of errors   : 0
        Device name        : CINTALOCAL LTO4
        Backup ID          : n/a
        Copy ID            : 19265 (Orig)
        Encrypted          : No
        DiskAgent ID       : 1371485566

 

.... and more

 

 

The second command works OK also. (Only appears LTO4 tape)

 

C:\Program Files\OmniBack\bin>omnidb -session 2013/06/17-75 -media
Medium Label                   Medium ID                            Free Blocks
===============================================================================
[LNS857L4] LNS857L4            8d05c881:51bf34b4:09a4:0001            215814848

 

 

The problem is the same. In the new session of LTO4 I can not restore because not appears in the list of "restore sessions".

 

Solutions?

 

Thanks!!

 

HP Expert
Bob_Clark
Posts: 1,428
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Message 4 of 11 (511 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

Two Suggestions

 

          - Make sure that your Intercal is set to None

          - Do the Restore from the command line, using 'omnir'

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 5 of 11 (508 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

1.- What is INTERCAL?? Intercal or interval? See the file attached, please. Is that?

 

2.- I'll try by command line and I'm telling you if it works or not.

 

Thanks a lot

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 6 of 11 (502 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

I have reviewed the "omnir" command and it is very hard because the command has a lot of parameters. It is not something to make continually.

HP has not defined a procedure of tape copy and later restored? It seems too obvious.

Thanks!
HP Expert
Bob_Clark
Posts: 1,428
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Message 7 of 11 (492 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

oops, 'Interval'

 

The 'omnir' command syntax is very arcane, but here is the basic outine

 

omnir [object type] -session [session_id]

 

So, pulling information from your Session detail

 

omnir -winfs bkvirtuales.aduci.int:/C "Backup Virtuales" -session 2013/06/17-75 -tree [path to files you want to restore]

 

Notice that the object description is in " marks

 

This will restore the backup of ceertain files and/or folders that was backed up in the session 2013/06/17-75 to its original location

 

So,for example

 

omnir -winfs bkvirtuales.aduci.int:/C "Backup Virtuales" -session 2013/06/17-75 -tree /temp

 

In this command, you must use the / mark to delimitinate the directory paths

 

and, if you wanted to restore to a different folder

 

omnir -winfs bkvirtuales.aduci.int:/C "Backup Virtuales" -session 2013/06/17-75 -tree /temp -into /restore_dir

 

Your screenshot did not show the session in question 2013/06/17-75 (which is why I don't like screen shots), can you scroll down a little more to see if you see this session ID.  If not would you run

 

        omnidb -session -type backup -since 2013/06/15 -until 2013/06/20

 

If this runs, run it again,land save the output to a file

 

What version of Data Protector are you running?  I saw that this was a problem with older versions, and was fixed with a test binary, eventuall, a general release patch

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 8 of 11 (482 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

Thanks a lot Bob.

 

The 'omnir' command does not work. Says that the session has not been found in database. The session only appears in GUI's IDB.

 

Please, looks the screenshots.

 

My DP is 7.01 version. There's patches for this problem??

 

Thanks

HP Expert
Bob_Clark
Posts: 1,428
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Message 9 of 11 (430 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

It actually looks like your 'omnir' command was done correctly, there are no syntax errors, except for not finding the 'tree', maybe it needs a \ instead of a /, as shown in my documentation

 

The main problem is not connecting to INET on the server 'bkvirtuales'.  On that server, please be sure that the Data Protector iNET service is running, and, if it not, turn it on manually

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 10 of 11 (416 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

And for GUI is not posible? Some patches for DP 7.01?

Occasional Advisor
vcbcvb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 11 of 11 (400 Views)

Re: Media Copy (Copy 2 LTO3 to 1 LTO4)

Nobody?? For GUI is not possible? Some patches for 7.01 version?

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.