Re: MS SQL Cluster Support (256 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
FadiR
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2013
Message 1 of 3 (287 Views)

MS SQL Cluster Support

[ Edited ]

Dears,

 

Good day :)

 

We install a 2-node SQL Cluster with the following settings:

 

  • OS: Windows Server 2008 Enterprise R2 (64bit) with SP1
  • Ms SQL Server 2008 Enterprise R2 (64bit)
  • Windows Failover Cluster
  • Storage: HP SAN

We want to make sure if the HP Data Protector Version A.06.02 Build 370 does support SQL cluster Backup

 

Thanks

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Automated Backup to Data Protector Support and News Forum. - Hp Forum Moderator

 

 

Please use plain text.
HP Expert
Stewart_Macleod
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-02-2013
Message 2 of 3 (265 Views)

Re: MS SQL Cluster Support

Hello,

From the HP Data Protector 6.20 Platform and Integration Support Matrix (Nov 13)

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2:
Is supported on...
   Windows Server 2003 (64-bit) (Itanium, x64)
   Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) (Itanium, x64)
   Windows Server 2008 R2 (64-bit) (Itanium, x64)
   Windows Small Business Server 2011 (64-bit) (x64)  

With respect to clustering the following are supported.

Microsoft Cluster Server:
   Windows Server 2003 (32-bit)
   Windows Server 2003 (64-bit) (Itanium)
   Windows Server 2003 (64-bit) (x64)

Microsoft Failover Cluster:
   Windows Server 2008 (32-bit)
   Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) (Itanium)
   Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) (x64)
   Windows Server 2008 R2 (64-bit) (x64)

Hope this helps. Stewart

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Thomas Martin
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎09-27-2001
Message 3 of 3 (256 Views)

Re: MS SQL Cluster Support

Hello,

 

you have to install DP localy on the cluster member. Map a network drive to DC-Cellmanager\omniback and run setup from the x8664 folder. The setup will detect the cluster and install DP cluster aware.

Configure the backup to point to the virtual server, all other settings are the same to a physical server.

Do you want to take a LAN or a SAN backup?

If you want to take SAN backup you must zone your library to the cluster nodes. The library is the available to the virtual servers.

 

Thomas

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation