Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup (604 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
DunieskyDiaz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 1 of 6 (717 Views)

Hyper-V cluster Backup

 

Good Afternoon


I presented a serious problem when it comes to supporting a Hyper-V cluster, it creates a shared folder located on C: / / ClusterStorage for Windows Explorer I see perfectly but when I back it with DataProtector I get this blank.

 

There are contained all the virtual machines and all virtual disks and it's something urgent to be backed up.

 

Someone has this happened or know how to fix it.

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Zigoze
Posts: 549
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Message 2 of 6 (713 Views)

Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup

if you want to backup your vm's online you have to use the Virtual Agent Online Integration (preferrably) or the VSS Online Integration...

 

if you want to backup your vm's offline (turning off you vm prior to the backup), you can backup that folder specifying it as a network share.

 

but pay attention that, if you backup your vm's turned on without one of the online integrations mentioned you will not have guarantee of consistency of their data...

 

so, either online with one of the integrations (need license...), or offline (with vm's turned off) configuring a network share backup...

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Pratik_3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-20-2003
Message 3 of 6 (689 Views)

Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup

I am having some issue with Hyper-V backup configuration in DP6.2.  During setup, I can't see tree. I just see cluster (virtual cluster  hostname) and can't select anything. Looks like some issue. Any advice will be great.

 

Also, any patch for DP6.2 hyper-v ?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
it61066
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎03-19-2007
Message 4 of 6 (610 Views)

Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup

Hello,

 

I have the same problem: did you find a solution?

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Stephen Fyffe
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 5 of 6 (606 Views)

Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup

Duniesky,

You need to setup the Hyper-V integration as Zigoze has stated. Do not try and backup the VM's using a filesytsem backup. You will be disappointed.

Regards,
-SFyffe
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Stephen Fyffe
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Message 6 of 6 (604 Views)

Re: Hyper-V cluster Backup

With the Hyper-V integration you will want to be sure you are fully patched and these patches are distributed to each node of the cluster. Read the Virtualization guide on the installation details.


NOTE: When you are setting up the integration for the nodes be sure that you use the Windows NT Domain Name in the credentials dialog box. It is labeled "Domain". Some will input their DNS Domain Name there and this simply will not work.

Regards,
-SFyffe
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation