How to define a storage pool into Load balanced backup method (132 Views)
Occasional Contributor
Fosiul01
Message 1 of 5 (132 Views)

How to define a storage pool into Load balanced backup method

[ Edited ]

Hi

I am really new to HP Data Protector , and currently took over a backup project from ex employee.

We have a device example

MSL001

and it has 2 drive

MSL001_d1

MSL001_d2

and From Backup - > Backup Jon- > Description -> I can see its saying "Load Balanced"

But what I dont undersand, How are you defining a storage pool to a specifiq backup with this "Load Balanced" Method,

to be more specifiq - : I was checking couple of Backup  under BAckup Specification -> options -> Select the drive -> click Properties -> Media pool -> No medial pool seclected.

But I can see its going to one of medial pool we have ( currently we have 3 medial pool)

so instead of "no medial pool selected" Hows its going  into one of hte medial pool ??

how does media pool work for Load blanced method ??

Hope it make sense.

Thanks for your help

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Johnc_3
Message 2 of 5 (112 Views)

Re: How to define a storage pool into Load balanced backup method

Hi,

When a tape drive device is created a default media pool can be selected.  After this, when that device is used for a backup the media will be used from the default media pool for the drive.  The 'No media pool selected' option in the backup specification means that it's going to use the drive-defined pool but it gives you the opportunity to over-ride this if needed.

The 'Load balancing' is the amount of drives the backup specification will use.  By default, whenever a new job is created it will be load balanced and you can choose how many (maximum and minimum) drives will be used for the backup.

The media pools do not define how load balancing works.

Hope this helps,

John

------------------
Kudos gratefully accepted - How to assign...
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor