Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2 (3326 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
BackupDude
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 1 of 26 (4,659 Views)

Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hello,

 

I have an issue with the backup of our Exchange 2010 environment.

 

Cell server - Win 2003 with DP 6.2 and latest patches installed (except 6.21).

Exchange env consists of 3 DB servers Win 2008 with the E2010 and MS Volume shadow copy integrations installed. The DAG virtual host is present in the cell.

 

I set up the backup and selected just one passive DB copy for backup in order to test it. The preview for the backup completes successfully but the actual backup fails with this error :

 

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@host.domain.net "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 2011-12-28 14:05:27
Initializing DP VSS Interface.

 

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@host.domain.net "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 2011-12-28 14:05:28
Starting backup using DP VSS Interface.

 

[Critical] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@host.domain.net "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 2011-12-28 14:06:41
Error 3 returned from DP VSS API.

 

No error is present in the debug log at that time or in the event logs on the exchange servers.

 

Any help would be greatly apreciated.

 

 

Honored Contributor
Sebastian.Koehler
Posts: 1,157
Registered: ‎02-27-2007
Message 2 of 26 (4,637 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Does this work for you?

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/ITRC-Data-Protector-Forum/Exchange-2010-issue-on-DP-6-2/td-p/5331501

Regards,
Sebastian
---
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.
Frequent Advisor
BackupDude
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 3 of 26 (4,635 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hi,

 

No it does not work. The cell server name is correctly entered in the registry on all 3 db servers...

Honored Contributor
Sebastian.Koehler
Posts: 1,157
Registered: ‎02-27-2007
Message 4 of 26 (4,630 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

This is a known issue related to the Windows firewall on the Exchange nodes.

 

Error 3 returned from DP VSS API

http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM1192834

 

Regards,

Sebastian

---
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.
Frequent Advisor
BackupDude
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 5 of 26 (4,625 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

My account does not have enough permissions to access that link. Could you please expand it for me?

Honored Contributor
Sebastian.Koehler
Posts: 1,157
Registered: ‎02-27-2007
Message 6 of 26 (4,594 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Have you been able to resolve the issue with the hint regarding the firewall?

Regards,
Sebastian
---
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.
Frequent Advisor
BackupDude
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 7 of 26 (4,589 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

No, not yet. I have disabled the win firewall and all db servers and rebooted them but the same error is there.

We are now checking the nw firewalls.

Any other idea you might have would be great!

Honored Contributor
Sebastian.Koehler
Posts: 1,157
Registered: ‎02-27-2007
Message 8 of 26 (4,585 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

The KB article was clear and the resolution made sense. Do you have any network security/firewalls between CS/MA and your DB servers? If one of the DB servers is in the same network segment as the CS, you can try to a backup this host directly as a test.

 

Regards,

Sebastian

---
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.
Frequent Advisor
Arjan Schepers
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 9 of 26 (4,466 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Surely you can't be serious about disabling the firewall on the mailservers?

 

This is not an acceptable solution.

Occasional Contributor
MatsH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 10 of 26 (4,349 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hi!

Any luck with this one? having the same problem at one customer after latest WIndows pacthes. Everything worked uptil then.

-firewall is disabled and servers restarted

-checked security context for DAG

-reinstalled Dataprotector on both nodes

 

I'm having a case open with HP and we see that VSS BAR doesn't start on the active node (we're doing backup from passive node) and then it gives the error.

 

Did you find any solution to it?

 

//Mats

Occasional Contributor
MatsH
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 11 of 26 (4,348 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Forgot to say that we're on 6.21 in this environment
Frequent Advisor
Arjan Schepers
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 12 of 26 (4,228 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

[ Edited ]

I would like to hear a definitive solution from HP regarding this matter. This error keeps popping up in our logfiles and I want to get rid of it. Once again, disabling the firewall on the mailservers is not an acceptable solution (and against company policy).

 

Thank you.

 

EDIT: We're on W2K8R2 (CM and E2010) and DP 6.21.

Respected Contributor
Jenni_S
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 13 of 26 (4,219 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hi Arjan,

 

Have you logged a support case with HP? The people helping you in this forum are not necessarily HP employes and even those who are will not be in a position to give you "a definitive solution from HP" - you will need to log a support case with HP if this is what you are looking for.....

cheers,
jenni

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post was useful, please click on KUDOS! "White Star"
Frequent Advisor
Arjan Schepers
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 14 of 26 (4,216 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

I also logged a case with HP, still in disbelief. If I hear from them, I will post back here to save other people the trouble.

Frequent Advisor
Agnar Örn Arason
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 15 of 26 (4,176 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

I recently had this same error, but as the Windows firewall was not running, that could not be the cause. I had just done Cell Secure to limit access to DP on all clients to a Cell Manager and Installation server, so I suspected the problem was related to that. 

 

I looked in the inet.log and found  messages like this:

 

15.4.2012 23:30:11 INET.1856.1880 ["/inetnt/allow_deny.c $Rev: 7289 $ $Date:: 2010-04-16 13:35:43":458] A.06.20 b370
A request 28 (vssbar.exe) came from host hostname.domain.local (::1) which is not in AllowList: not proceeding with this request!

 

It appears that vssbar.exe was not allowed to communicate with Inet even though they are on the same server. Anyway, I added the client to the list of servers allowed to communite the client (itself) and now it works.

This may not be the problem in your case, but I just wanted to get this out there in case someone else encounters the same Issue.

 

Agnar

 

 

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 16 of 26 (4,172 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hello

 

Please unistall VSS integration component into exchange server and install it again. Be sure that firewall is disabled

Occasional Advisor
stiegeler
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2012
Message 17 of 26 (4,083 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

[ Edited ]

No of the solutions are working.

Always the same error:

Error 3 returned from DP VSS API.

 

-Firewall ist disabled

-Patches on DP are installed

-DP on Client is deleted and installed again.

-Cell servers name in client registry ist ok

 

I have absolutly no idea.

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 18 of 26 (4,077 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hello Stiegeler

 

Please tr ythe following

 

1º Add this variable into omnirc file in all exchange nodes OB2VSS_MAX_CONCURRENT_WORKER_THREADS=10

 

2º Restart DP inet service into exchange servers

 

3º try to run backup again it must works fine now. 

Honored Contributor
JBasilio
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 19 of 26 (4,075 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hello all

 

PLEASE IGNORE my last post is wrong, this was for another issue.

 

here is the correct one.

 

1º apply these settings into omnirc of Exchange server: C:\Program data\omniback

 

DPCOM_SWITCHUSER_TIMEOUT=600

 

DPCOM_CONNECT_TIMEOUT=600

 

OB2IPCKEEPALIVE=1

 

2º If file is not renamed as omnirc instead omnirc.TMPL please rename it.

 

3º run backup again and let me know the result.

Occasional Visitor
dp_maple
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2012
Message 20 of 26 (4,069 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

worked for us - thanx!

Occasional Advisor
best_hp
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 21 of 26 (3,737 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

I have this problem.

 

I exectue this commands

 

Hello all

 

PLEASE IGNORE my last post is wrong, this was for another issue.

 

here is the correct one.

 

1º apply these settings into omnirc of Exchange server: C:\Program data\omniback

 

DPCOM_SWITCHUSER_TIMEOUT=600

 

DPCOM_CONNECT_TIMEOUT=600

 

OB2IPCKEEPALIVE=1

 

2º If file is not renamed as omnirc instead omnirc.TMPL please rename it.

 

3º run backup again and let me know the result.

 

its no worked...

 

 

I have absolutly no idea.

 

 

Occasional Advisor
best_hp
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 22 of 26 (3,662 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

after restart one of clusters node, backup is work
Occasional Visitor
Auso Tech Team
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2010
Message 23 of 26 (3,326 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

[ Edited ]

We recently had the error  "Error 3 returned from DP VSS API." while trying to back up MS Exchange databases.

 

HP and "Agnar's" post suggested the fix was to include the cell manager and all exchange servers in the "allow_hosts" file on each Exchange Server. The file is located at C:\ProgramData\Omniback\Config\Client

 

It seems you must add the client to its own allow_hosts file.

 

Hope this helps.

Frequent Advisor
Arjan Schepers
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 24 of 26 (2,682 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

The solution of best_hp seems to work for us. Finally I'm getting rid of that dreaded error. Thank you!

Frequent Advisor
BackupDude
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 25 of 26 (2,675 Views)

Re: Exchange 2010 backup error in 6.2

Hey, just a little update even if pretty late one.

 

In my case the problem was the cell server registry entry on the db server. It was using another domain name for it, I modified that and backup worked.

 

Cheers!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.