Re: DataProtector 8 - Vsphere 5.1 - MSL4048(FC) (2909 Views)
Visitor
MarcoSeguraZ
Message 1 of 9 (3,133 Views)

DataProtector 8 - Vsphere 5.1 - MSL4048(FC)

[ Edited ]

Hi,

Some days ago, I install my first DataProtector 8, I am really new with this software, but in past I installed without issues with Windows Server Cell manager and physical host and LTO drives (SAS)

I normally research before post in a forum, but right now I need help

I have a VMware Vshere 5.1 working environment (Windows Vcerter), I have a Dataprotector 8 Windows 2008 Server with and HBA connected using an HP SAN Switches to an MSL-4048 (Dual LTO-5 FC)

My DataProtector Server is CellManager, DiskAgent, MediaAgent and VMWARE Integration.

My MSL-4048 is correctly detected by OS and DATAPROTECTOR, after I make the AUTOCONFIGURE PROCEDURE, the DP show the robot and the 2 LTO drives. I proceed to scan the library without issues (I have barcode at all all, I have 47 LTO-5 tapes and 1 LTO Clean Tape). I format all tapes and everything is OK here.

When I proceed to create a backup, I selected VirtualEnviroment I create a Vmware Backup, I can see in the screen al my VMs, I can select per DATACENTER backup, per VM backups, all normally here. I selected DATACENTER BACKUP

At the end, I always run an offline test to check if all in the backup is OK. We I run this, I see that DATAPROTECTOR connect to VCENTER without issues, start the snapshot procedure without issues (some timeouts but works) and finally show me all is OK.

When I run the session manually, the DATAPROTECTOR starts but, when it try to make a backup in the using the drives, it always say:

"... No tape in the device.."