Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG (798 Views)
Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
Message 1 of 9 (798 Views)

Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

[ Edited ]

Hi All, we are having some issues with DP 7.03 on our Exchange 2010 DAG.

Here are some logs. We have checked all VSS writes and they are good.

 

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:17 AM
Initializing DP VSS Interface.

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:17 AM
Starting backup using DP VSS Interface.

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_VSSBAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:17 AM
Performing Full Backup.

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_VSSBAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:17 AM
Connecting to Volume Shadow Copy Service.

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_VSSBAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:17 AM
Gathering Writer Metadata.

[Normal] From: OB2BAR_VSSBAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:21 AM
Entering Shadow Copy Set creation phase.

[Major] From: OB2BAR_VSSBAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:21 AM
Backup failed.

[Major] From: OB2BAR_E2010_BAR@XXXXX "MS Exchange 2010 Server" Time: 16/04/2014 8:49:58 AM
Error occured while executing backup for component mailboxdatabase(523225b9-884a-479d-b4bc-aa6c3c8eca23).

 

 

Any ideas?

HP Expert
Posts: 1,704
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Message 2 of 9 (717 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

I could find nothng in either lab cases or the Knowledgebase on this behavior.

 

On your Exchange server 'XXXXX', please check your Application event log and your system event log for any errors posted near the time of the backup error, 16/04/2014 8:49:58 AM

 

I suspect that, unless someone else on the Forum has seen this, you will probably need to open a case with the Response Center

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
Message 3 of 9 (710 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

Thanks Bob

 

Thats the thing can't find any errors on the Exchange server. We'll get a case raised. I'll post back if we find a result.

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-30-2014
Message 4 of 9 (674 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

Hi,

 

Im Also having the same issue in our organisation,if u got the answer please assist me

Super Advisor
Posts: 304
Registered: ‎06-05-2009
Message 5 of 9 (617 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

has it worked before?

 

After "Entering Shadow Copy Set creation phase"...it should have started to pick the Mailboxes. Something wrong there...

 

can you list the mailboxes using PS in the exchange box?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 6 of 9 (205 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

Hi

 

I have the same problem, I´ve raised a report at HP, meanwhile, when the issue occured, I repeat the backup and it's finish OK.

 

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 771
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 7 of 9 (186 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

The Error usually indicates troubles with the VSS Writers.

Make sure they are all in stable state and show no errors (vssadmin list writers) and restry the job if that is the case.

If the Exchange Writer is in error state you have to check ApplicationLog for clues, in worst case Exchange or the whole Server has to be rebooted to fix VSS.

 

Regular Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 8 of 9 (94 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

Hi,
The error is related with VSS copy, but we verify that Data Protector cannot copy a passive EDB, you must select only active mailbox databases on DAG.
This configuration is OK in your environment?

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 771
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 9 of 9 (79 Views)

Re: Data Protector issues with Exchange 2010 DAG

If Exchange and DataProtector are configured properly you can Backup both, active or passive Copy.

We use Backup passive copy with failover to active in case no passive copy is availble.

Needed some hotfixes in our case but works fine now.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.