DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case? (460 Views)
Reply
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 1 of 13 (460 Views)
Accepted Solution

DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

If the backup files has been moved/copy manually to another path  , Some of backup software still can do Restore/Import the backup files from the new path, the process looks similar to the attached figure.  I’d like to make sure HP DP can do such operation?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 2 of 13 (437 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

not exactely sure what you mean with the backup file?

 

Do you mean the Backup Device for example File Jukebox or File Library?

- If you use File Jukebox, you can copy the files from the jukebox (repository) to another directory and do an import (or just modifiy the paths in the repository or the juekbox)

- If you use File Library, you cant reimport them as far as i know.

 

regards

***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 3 of 13 (434 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

Thanks for your answer ,It is Filesystem,do u mean if move the backup files manually on filesystem,the files cant be import?

 

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 4 of 13 (429 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

it depends, what backup device are you using?

 

File Jukebox

File Library

Store Once Software Store

***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 5 of 13 (419 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

I am using filesystem (dell dr4100)

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 6 of 13 (414 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

can you give us a bit more details how you have configured data protector to write on your dell dr4100?

 

the device you configured in data protector is it:

 

1. File Library (if yes do you use distributed file media format)

2. File Jukebox

 

how is the setup done. how are the devices configured (Repository Settings)

 

***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 7 of 13 (394 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

the device I configured in data protector is File Library (didnt select the distributed file media format)

 

Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 8 of 13 (388 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

Hi andre80. Please take a look at the screenshots, much appreciated

1.jpg2.jpg

 

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 9 of 13 (380 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

okay you use filelibrary not file jukebox.

 

if you just plan to move the repository eg from E: to F:  then this should work. you just have to edit the repository settings for the filelibrary. you need the omnidownlaod command for this.

this does work as long as your idb is fine and all the repository files are in the idb.

 

if you want to move the repository files to a clean dp installation without restoring the idb, you cant import the filelibrary repository files... that is not possible with file library. you could as workarround create a file jukebox, configure the repository for each filelibrary file and then do an import... but i would not do this..

 

what exactely are the plans you have?

***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 10 of 13 (378 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

The process just like this:

 

1.Do a backup to \\host1\library1

2.Copy the backup files from \\host1\library1 to \\host2\libarary2 manually.

3.Can I use the omnidownload command to import the backup files from library2?

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 11 of 13 (373 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

you have to test, but that should work.

as long as you have the same library in data protector and only change the

- client -> host2

- repository settings -> path on host2

 

then you should be fine.

***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
Advisor
SmileVivid
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 12 of 13 (350 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

the IDB is fine, but I only have one HP DP on host1, I tried to use the command omnidownload to modify the repository path to the second library, but failed...Could u please tell me how to do a store from the second library by start using  the omnidownload

Honored Contributor
andre80
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎08-08-2004
Message 13 of 13 (318 Views)

Re: DP 8.0 -Can we do Restore/Import in the case?

what exactely you want to do? Change repository path for example from E:\repositroy to F:\repository?
***********************************************************************
if you find this post usefull please assign kudos by clicking on the thumbs up icon. thanks :-)
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.