Re: DB2 - Archived log backup issue. (2167 Views)
Frequent Advisor
shabab-os
Message 1 of 12 (2,236 Views)
Accepted Solution

DB2 - Archived log backup issue.

Hi DP Gurus!!!,

For DB2 integration with DP 6.2, is it possible to schedule the "Arhived_log" bckup ??

please help me understand, why do we need to have a dedicated drive to backup the archive logs of DB2 unlike any other Database integrations with DP ??

its a bit ambigous when I look into the DP Guide.

Thanks a million all friends.....

******Assign Kudos (click on the white star) should you find it useful. *******
Honored Contributor
Sebastian.Koehler
Message 2 of 12 (2,229 Views)

Re: DB2 - Archived log backup issue.

I'm not an expert regarding DB2, but from the manual I understand that an Online Backup will trigger the Archive Log backup right after completion. Might be related to the way the backup mode is implemented. To allow both backup jobs to run successfully, two devices are required to allow concurrent operation.

Scheduling or manual start is not possible...

Archived_Logs_Backup - Used for backing up only archived logs. This type of backup specification can be saved, but not started or scheduled. It is used every time the User Exit program starts the backup of archived logs.

Regards,
Sebastian
---
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.
Frequent Advisor
shabab-os
Message 3 of 12 (2,223 Views)

Hi Sebastian,

Thanks a lot for that info. 

Means to say that, even if schedule a backup job to backup the archive logs, it wont start as per the schedule. right ?  Means.. we can only specify the tape drive through which the archive log can be backed up ...right ?

1 more doubt with regards to DB2.

Is it possible to do the following :-

1.  An online backup of DB2  has been done at the PROD site (has online integration license to do this).

2. I need to restore this DB from the online backup (triggered at PROD site) at DR site where I don't have a license to do online backup of DB2.