06-17-2012 09:27 PM
Just a quick one.
I know by editing the schedule file or setting a protection date via the schedule tab in the GUI you can set the protection date for backups. This is the date in which the backup data will remain valid on the backup media before it's able to be overwritten?
Now there is an additional setting within the options tab under Common Application Options > Advanced (attached screenshot)
Does this advanced option over ride the protection set in the schedule tab?
06-17-2012 09:34 PM - edited 06-17-2012 09:35 PM
The option you see in Options > Advanced is the default that is used if the job is run interactively or no protection is set on the scheduled event. If anything is defined on a schedule, it will overwrite the value specified here. The object will remain "protected" and is not released back to allocation until time is up. See Data Protector Operations guide for details.
Assign a kudo to this post, if you find it useful.