Re: No inventory for deployed agent (942 Views)
Reply
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 1 of 22 (1,005 Views)

No inventory for deployed agent

HI All,

 

i have 2 queries

 

1. i have installed agent in one machine manually the port was opened and services are running fine but no information found about this host at reporting module...please suggest me 

 

Version of HPCA 7.9

Agent version 7.9

 

2.Is their any report or some logs to find the machines are not updating the inventory in HPCA reporting module..

 

please suggest me...

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 2 of 22 (1,002 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi,

Did you ask on the console to do an Inventory connect and set up and Inventory service?

Best Regards,
shanti
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 3 of 22 (994 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi Shanti,

 

thanks for your reply...

 

i have entiltled the inventory services in CSDB  like (RIM reporting,NVDM Discovery of application) and even software hardware audit services also and i ran audit and software connect the connect ran successful but no inventory update in tool..

 

Regards

Gokul

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 4 of 22 (990 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi Gokul,

Did you do these settings from the console? Do you have an AD attached?

Best Regards,
shanti
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 5 of 22 (988 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

hi shatni,

 

 

Yes i ran connect from HPCA Management console and also manually..and we have not integrated AD in our Environment..

 

did you do these settings from the console?

 

did you mean CSDB editor or HPCA Management console?

 

Regards

Gokul

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 6 of 22 (986 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

If you are using CAE, you may need to set the policy user null instance to internal policy
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 7 of 22 (985 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi Gokul,

Replace the POLICY.USER._NULL_INSTANCE_ _ALWAYS_ variable with RMP_RESOLVE instead of LDAP_RESOLVE and it should work.

Best Regards,
shanti
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 8 of 22 (981 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi Shanti,

 

can you explain me bit clear because i am unable to find LDAP_RESOLVE ..

 

Regards

Gokul

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 9 of 22 (977 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi,

Open the CSDB Editor and find the _ALWAYS_ connection under POLICY.USER._NULL_INSTANCE_

in the SOFTWARE domain.

Best Regards,
shanti
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Shanti Yajnik
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 10 of 22 (975 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Sorry under PRIMARY and then domain POLICY etc.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 11 of 22 (972 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi shanti,

 

I tried with your steps and i got an error

please find the attached for the same...

 

Regards

Gokul

Please use plain text.
Esteemed Contributor
Gowhar Jan
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 12 of 22 (961 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Are you getting reporting information for other machines where you ran SOFTWARE or AUDIT connects?

 

How is the ODBC connection from your 7.9 Core to your SQL Server or Oracle?

 

Do you see any rejects in Messaging Server?

 

What is the value passed in Agent radskman commandline for UID parameter?

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 13 of 22 (959 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi

 

Yes I am getting reporting information for all other machines(4300) expect some machines(1250) in our environment..

 

and it is a SQL Server. and Both application and SQL DB in same server

 

yes I am seeing rejects for some machines not for all which is not updating the inventory..

 

I am passing uid=$machine,cop=y while connecting to the clients..

 

Regards

Gokul

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
Pravs
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 14 of 22 (942 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi,

 

Can you see those records in your SQl Server DB? 

 

The tables like deviceConfig and Appevent can provide details of managed devices and also the services deployed on those machine along with details like date, time, UID field, etc.

 

if the records are not present then it either means the agent ( client) did not send the proper information Or somwhere the data got rejected by RMS.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
shibin p s
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎11-27-2008
Message 15 of 22 (936 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

HI,

 

Could you see the if Audit policies are proper for the machines?Messaging server queues are checked? Could you see the information in SQL serevr?

 

Regards

Shibin

Give and Take
Please use plain text.
Advisor
afs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 16 of 22 (928 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

When I have seen this it was because the radskman command had not "cop=y" for the first connect

It is a good idea to check that the agents not reporting correctly have run a real connect with cop=y

(you said that you had cop=y, but please double check this)

 

thanks, Armando

 

HP Software
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 17 of 22 (914 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

Hi

 

I am able to see the machines(clients) name in Appevent table but why it is not updating inventory in rnvd_installed_uninstall table ?

 

 

Regards

Gokul

Please use plain text.
Advisor
afs
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 18 of 22 (909 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

please check

 

http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM1310449

 

HP Client Automation Core console does not show software inventory data by default.

This selection:

- Core console
- Reporting tab
- Inventory information
- View managed devices
- Select your device
- Click on "Details"
- Click on "Maximize all Windows"

Shows:

Executable File Scan
 NO RECORDS FOUND FOR SEARCH CRITERIA 

Return to Executable File Scan | Return to Top of Page 
 Registered Application Scan
 NO RECORDS FOUND FOR SEARCH CRITERIA 

Return to Registered Application Scan | Return to Top of Page 
 Add/Remove Programs Scan

 NO RECORDS FOUND FOR SEARCH CRITERIA

How can this be completed?

 

 

 

 

Response

The following example shows how to use AUDIT zservices to fill basic inventory data of software applications:

First AUDIT zservice to be used is:

"NVDM Discovery of Applications" (zservice is ZSVCMO=O by default)

This could be run in a test environment with a command similar to:

radskman ip=<managerip>,port=3464,dname=AUDIT,context=m,UID=$MACHINE,cat=prompt,cop=y

After running it:


 Registered Application Scan
      10 items 15 items 25 items 50 items 100 items 250 items 500 items 750 items 1000 items   
     1 - 15 of 23 items 16 - 23 of 23 items  
   
Company Name  File Name  File Version  Path 
   C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmmgr32.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Address Book  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\wab.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Cluster Administrator  5.2.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\WINDOWS\Cluster\CluAdmin.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Internet Connection Wizard  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Connection Wizard\ICWCONN1.EXE" 
Microsoft Corporation  Internet Connection Wizard  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Connection Wizard\ICWCONN2.EXE" 
Microsoft Corporation  Internet Connection Wizard  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Connection Wizard\INETWIZ.EXE" 
Microsoft Corporation  Internet Explorer  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Internet Signup  6.00.3790.0 (srv03_rtm.030324-2048)  "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Connection Wizard\ISIGNUP.EXE" 
Microsoft Corporation  Microsoft (R) Address Book Import Tool  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\wabmig.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Microsoft Help and Support Center  5.2.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\HelpCtr.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Microsoft Windows Phone Dialer  5.2.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\WINDOWS\dialer.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Outlook Express  6.00.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  Paint  5.2.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\WINDOWS\system32\mspaint.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  SQL Server Windows NT  2000.080.0760.00  C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BINN\sqlservr.exe 
Microsoft Corporation  System Configuration Utility  5.2.3790.1830 (srv03_sp1_rtm.050324-1447)  C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe 
Return to Registered Application Scan | Return to Top of Page 

 
 Add/Remove Programs Scan
      10 items 15 items 25 items 50 items 100 items 250 items 500 items 750 items 1000 items   
     1 - 15 of 15 items  
   
Product  Version 
Adobe Flash Player 10 ActiveX  10.3.183.10 
HP Client Automation Administrator  7.90 
HP Client Automation Application Manager Agent  7.90 
HP Client Automation Application Usage Manager Agent 7.90  7.90.000 
HP Client Automation Core  7.90.000 
Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0  2.0.50727 
Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0  
Microsoft Office PowerPoint Viewer 2003  11.0.6458.0 
Microsoft SQL Server 2000  8.00.761 
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.4148  9.0.30729.4148 
MSXML 6.0 Parser  6.10.1129.0 
VMware Tools  8.8.0.7539 
Windows Automated Installation Kit  2.0.0.0 
WinPcap 4.1.2  4.1.0.2001 
Wireshark 1.6.4  
 


Another AUDIT zservice to be used is "Hardware/Software Audit"

After running it the following can be seen:

Executable File Scan

Scanned  Name  Vendor  Product  Version  Product Version  File Date  File Size  File Path  File MD5 
2012-01-05 08:56:56  catutil.exe  Microsoft Corporation  PKM  9.107.8320.0  9.107.8320.0  2002-12-04 18:52:31  73,728  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Common Files/System/MSSearch/Bin/catutil.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  SearchStp.exe  Microsoft Corporation  PKM  9.107.8320.0  9.107.8320.0  2002-12-04 18:52:38  200,704  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Common Files/System/MSSearch/Bin/SearchStp.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  execute.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:14:14  50,920  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/execute.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  Radskman.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:21:04  321,256  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/Lib/Backup/Radskman.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  Panelpgm.exe  Hewlett-Packard Company  HPCA Admin  7, 9, 0, 0  7.9.0  2010-05-24 12:16:44  550,456  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/Panelpgm.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  Pbmonitr.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Admin  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:16:50  128,568  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/Pbmonitr.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  radbootw.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:17:32  55,016  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/radbootw.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  RADNTSRV.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:20:26  157,416  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/RADNTSRV.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  Radpinit.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:20:32  390,888  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/Radpinit.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  radpnlwr.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:20:36  444,136  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/radpnlwr.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  radtray.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:21:54  481,000  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/radtray.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  Radxplor.exe  Hewlett-Packard Company  CM Admin Database Editor  7.90  7.90  2010-05-24 12:23:22  3,081,784  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/Radxplor.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  upgrdmaint.exe  Hewlett-Packard  Client Automation Agent  7,90,000,0  7.90.000  2010-05-24 12:24:44  657,128  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/Agent/upgrdmaint.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  ab.exe  Apache Software Foundation  Apache HTTP Server  2.2.15  2.2.15  2010-04-09 11:02:52  86,016  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/ApacheServer/bin/ab.exe  
2012-01-05 08:56:56  httxt2dbm.exe  Apache Software Foundation  Apache HTTP Server  2.2.15  2.2.15  2010-04-09 11:03:00  65,536  C:/PROGRAM FILES/Hewlett-Packard/HPCA/ApacheServer/bin/httxt2dbm.exe 

 

HP Software
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Goks
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 19 of 22 (908 Views)

No inventory for deployed agent

Hi 

 

cop=y is configured in csdb for all the clients which is reporting to HPCA server..and also daily timer is running in the client machines daily basis then also the inventory is not updating but last connect is showing latest date and time i.e last connected date is today's date.

 

 

Regards

Gokul 

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
Dmitry Sh
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-31-2007
Message 20 of 22 (903 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

hello Gokul,

2 things are needed to be done at agent side:

1. deploy the audit application.

2. run the command to execute the audit.

 

1. The audit application should be deployed with 'dname=audit' in radskman command line. If the application was deployed on target machines - you should see it in the agent's lib folder and tehre should be inventory files, for example like this: \HPCA\Agent\Lib\system\RADIA\AUDIT\ZSERVICE\DISCOVER_INVENTORY folder, FILEAUDT.EDM and WBEMAUDT.EDM files. Please search for these two .edm files within the entire lib folder and let us know if you find them. You should also be able to see if the audit applications were deployed to the affected agent machines at reporting tab.

 

2. Besides the installation or update phases, by default, the audit should be launched using radskman's "req="Execute"" prefix, like in sample audit timers in CSDB Editor. So if the applications were deployed but the audit information did not reach the server, and you are using agent-side timers, then please check the command lines. Do they contain that prefix?

 

If the agent side is ok, then there's some issue with messaging server probably...

 

 

Dmitry.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
shibin p s
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎11-27-2008
Message 21 of 22 (890 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

HI,

 

As suggested above you may check the messaging server  data queue and see if there is any pile up of data.

and see messaging server logs .

 

Regards

Shibin

Give and Take
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
shibin p s
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎11-27-2008
Message 22 of 22 (889 Views)

Re: No inventory for deployed agent

HI,

 

And one more thing ahve you properly assigned the audit packages agines the machines policy (external/internal).

 

Regards

Shibin

Give and Take
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation