Re: Issues writing equations with existing variables in Hp 50g (938 Views)
Advisor
JamesJames
Message 1 of 7 (1,174 Views)
Accepted Solution

Issues writing equations with existing variables in Hp 50g

Hello,

I'm studying for June's exams and I'm trying to write the long equations in my HP (Algebraic, std, degress, rectangular), but whenever I try to write a new one, if there is a variable with the same name, it displays its value and no the name I typed. I know it might sound confusing, but here is an example:

• I'm doing an exercise and I save the next equation: A=B+C (as an example).
  • I use it and I begin with a new exercise.
  • In this exercise I save the equation: B=C*E*R/T, but when I try to save it into a variable it changes the letters B & C for theirs values. So if I want to solve an equation with different B & C values I can't because they don't appear on the "Solve Equation".

I know I can purge all the variables before writing a new equation but it is a pain in the ass, is there a proper way to do it?

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Miguel Angel Caporalini
Message 2 of 7 (1,152 Views)

Re: Issues writing equations with existing variables in Hp 50g

[ Edited ]

Hi!, JamesJames:

In your first Equation, you can store it, in the HOME (VAR), as global variable with any name ... 'EQ' and press, STO.

You must see, in the SOLVE EQUATION ... with random any values for B and C and result of A

ABC_0.JPG 

Now, you needed create other equation, with the values, B and C ... 'B=C*E*R/T'

You can store it with the equal name of previous ('EQ' and STO), or with other name.

If select equal name, you must see ...

ABC_1.JPG Now, if you needed obtein the value of C ...

Complete the other values, moving plated arrows down, right or left, according to requirement.

p.e. : E= 2.5; R= 6 and T= 0.5

ABC_1.JPG 

Now, you needed go with the up plated arrow to C and press F6 (SOLVE). Then you must see, the result of C.

ABC_1.JPG