Re: How do i turn on my HP Prime? (756 Views)
Occasional Advisor
kabel
Message 1 of 12 (879 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do i turn on my HP Prime?

I'm new to HP calculators, i just got HP Prime. My question may seem silly, but how do i turn on my calculator? When i press on the "ON" button, i just see the "Choose Default Language" and "English" is highlighted but i can't move the highlight onto some other language. It seems that this direction pad is not working? I'm OK with "English" as defailt language, but how do i select it? Below the "Choose Default Language" i see five soft keys "Save", "Reset", "Sort", "Send" and "Start". If i press "Save" some new screen shows up with "Select New App Name" title and "Name" text box below it.

Is my calculator messed up, defective, or really HP have some weird definition of intuition that i do not understand since i'm new to HP calculators?

I own Casio fx-CG10 and TI-89 Titanium and i didn't need any introduction to get arround and be productive in the first 30 min.

Honored Contributor
Tim Wessman
Message 2 of 12 (862 Views)

Re: How do i turn on my HP Prime?

Someone was playing with your unit before  you got it I think (somewhere from the end of the factory, to when you got it).

Press ON-APPS (the two keys together) to restart the calculator. It will reboot, and hp logo will show, and a circle graph. You might be back in the language selection screen, but it should work properly now.

--

TW

Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and comments expressed here are my own.
Occasional Advisor
kabel
Message 3 of 12 (856 Views)

Thanks for your reply. I do not know, but i got the calculator sealed from BestBuy. The battery was completely dead too.

I did the ON-APPS and it doesn't restart. How long do i need to hold them? I guess i was holding them for one minute maybe but nothing happened ...

Honored Contributor
Tim Wessman
Message 4 of 12 (851 Views)