Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards? (651 Views)
Reply
Advisor
CA804318
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎06-17-2002
Message 1 of 10 (651 Views)

Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

I installed 512MB Memory card(PC133)
and 128MB Memory card(PC133)
in my HP Brio BA410 computer and it works great !!!
Total memory is 640MB.
Ran Memtest86(V1.11) with no errors.
I have HP Brio BA410 computer system with
866MHz Pentium III, 40GB drive and 640MB or ram.

The RAM specifications limit the system to 256 MB SDRAM.
MAX RAM supported is 512 MB.
I running 640MB SDRAM with no problems at this time!!!

Will 640MB be problem in some unknow way?

Is it possible to install two(2) 512MB Memory cards
and total memory 1024MB?

Thank You
Bob Whitman


Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 2 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

This is what Crucial ramm Co had to say in regards to yours...........................

http://tinyurl.com/4vv2m
Honored Contributor
Steven Hauk_1
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 3 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

Nice tiny, John!
Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 4 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

Ahhhh thankyou Proffesor....I do what I can ...you know.!

Hey...Happy C.T.P.B. to ya.......
Honored Contributor
Steven Hauk_1
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 5 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

On the topics of Bob's questions...If your system supports 640 MB, it probably supports 1024 MB. If it supports a single 512 MB module, it will probably support two of them. There is ordinarily no documentation available to define the limits of computers that exceed their original limits, like yours apparently does. Sometimes, HP will post such things, but usually not. I recall they posted the large hard drive test results for BRIO computers, so that sort of documentation isn't totally unheard of...just unusual.

And if you have anything less than Windows XP more memory is probably more likely to cause more Windows problems that it's worth.
Advisor
CA804318
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎06-17-2002
Message 6 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

I using Windows XP.
Also I am running Dragon Naturally Speaking
which requires alot of ram.
Thank You
Bob Whitman
Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 7 of 10 (651 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

Yep...I think it may be worth a try to. Buy it where you can return it, just in case.?
Occasional Visitor
Conrad66
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-21-2013
Message 8 of 10 (553 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

Good morning.
On my pc " brio BA410 " , about a year ago , I installed two modules 512Kb RAM ( for a total of 1 Gb ) and I have not noticed any malfunction.
In addition, with a processor " Pentium III " Coppermine 1Ghz EB , I installed the operating system "Windows 7 Home Basic ," which runs very well with very good speed ( excluding full system scans performed by the antivirus , but it also happens on other computers ) .
Ordinary use , that played by the majority of users (Internet , various documents , research etc. . ) , I am very satisfied : if you do not know , it seems to use a PC with a processor and memory of the highest level.
Integration with "Windows 7 Home Basic" is excellent : they seem meant to be together and the operating system , with its better fluidity and fluency compared to "Windows XP ", helps the computer in its action.
If you happen to have two ram modules PC133 SDRAM 168-pin non- ECC 512Kb , I recommend you try it and you will be surprised !
Kind regards

Occasional Visitor
Conrad66
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-21-2013
Message 9 of 10 (547 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

Note following (important, I apologize for the omission) of the previous message.
With the proposed hardware-software configuration, you must install a fan on the processor heatsink, powered through a dedicated connector on the mainboard: the fan follows the requirements of the processor, the processor overheats, the computer is still very quiet (even with the side panel removed) and there are no problems.
After a long time of operation, you can safely place a finger over the blades of the heatsink without burning.
I updated to the latest BIOS version (IO.07.10), withdrawing the software from the HP website, but probably is not necessary, not having noticed any particular differences.
Kind regards

Frequent Advisor
Stefan Kühn
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-15-2006
Message 10 of 10 (462 Views)

Re: Will my HP Brio BA410 take two(2) 512MB memory cards?

It could be yes.

If you use the chipset utility and identiy the chipset go to the Intel side or google for the processor that is installed inclduing the SECC or SEC2 form and the FSB!

 

If the Intel side says that the chipset is designed for 1GB of RAM speeds, yes it could work and HP has forgotton to write a limit into its bios.

 

I have a BA410 here that works with 1GB of memory quite surprisingly.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.