Re: Vectra VL420 large new hard drive unrecognised (219 Views)
Occasional Visitor
Howard Borkett-Jones
Message 1 of 7 (1,581 Views)

Vectra VL420 large new hard drive unrecognised

I have installed a new 320GB Western Digital HDD replacing the existing 40GB HDD. I am running windows XP professional with SP 3. The set up only permits a 10GB C drive partition, and only recognises 117GB capacity of the remainder (D drive partition) i.e. a total of 127 GB only of the 320GB is recognised. Is this a fixable problem via an upgrade to the bios, if so, how - I am a novice at such things.

The System can however recognise an external 500GB Freecom USB HDD

Trying to load Ubuntu 8.10 to work alongside windows XP, the full size of the disk is recognised in an area of free space, though I don't think I can install Ubuntu in the free area.

Any one out there had success in using large internal HDDs with Vectra VL 420?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Message 2 of 7 (1,581 Views)

Re: Vectra VL420 large new hard drive unrecognised

Here is the answer to your qustion. http://forums13.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?admit=109447627+1249174976361+28353475&... It appears that they never released the later version of the BIOS that supports 48 bit LBA. A qustion did you set the Drive to CS(cable Select) and is it in the master postion? The USB external drives don't appear to have the same limits as those that are directly accessed through the sytem onboard controllers.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Howard Borkett-Jones
Message 3 of 7 (1,581 Views)

Thanks for this advice.

The page to which you refer has a file attached called 231650.removethis