Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram (1382 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Chris_637
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-19-2004
Message 1 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

[ Edited ]

I got a Problem with my Despro p3 866Mhz.
It won't eat more than 512MB Ram.
This couldn't be possible.

How can i put in more RAM, have anybody a solution ?

Thx in advanced

Chris

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Business PCs - Compaq, Elite, Pro to Business PCs - Evo, Deskpro, Vectra, Kayak, Brio, e-PC - HP Forums Moderator

Honored Contributor
jerry chin
Posts: 3,131
Registered: ‎02-09-2004
Message 2 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

Hello,
You are correct, 512 megabytes is the maximum amount of ram but only Windows 2000 and XP can handle over that, not Windows 95, 98, or ME. You could try changing out your video card with more ram or a faster hard drive. Jerry
Go Ahead, There's Always Bankruptcy Later
Occasional Visitor
Chris_637
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-19-2004
Message 3 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

Oehhhh,

I am running Unix on that ;)

Thx

Chris
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 4 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

Chris, Jerry,

RAM limitation is most often dependent on features set by the manufacturer for one or the other model produced.

Jerry, you are right about the superiority of W2K and XP at handling large RAM. However some non-MS-referred alterations to Win98 registry can tune this OS to working relatively fine beyond the critical limit of 512MB. I'm actually running WIN98 SE with 1GB of RAM. No much problems encountered at the moment.

Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Honored Contributor
Steven Hauk_1
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 5 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

The limit for this computer is 512 MB. The Windows-related issue at 512 MB has no effect here:

http://tinyurl.com/4djnt

Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 6 of 8 (1,382 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

Steven,

That's correct!
Sorry for that gossip of mine about the merits of recent versions of Windows. Just brought confusion where the diagnostic was drastic but clear.

Cheers
Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Occasional Visitor
harper80011
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-14-2013
Message 7 of 8 (1,156 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

i was reading on the deskpro being able to take more than 512mb of ram. i seen someone mention that the only way the deskpro can take more than 512mb is to install win200 or xp. i have xp with a 160 gig hard drive and i still cant get more than 512mb on it. any solutions?

Frequent Advisor
Stefan Kühn
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-15-2006
Message 8 of 8 (814 Views)

Re: Compaq Deskpro p3 866Mhz more than 512MB Ram

If you have the orginal bios version updated and look in the newster referece manual there you will find the max cabl your system is capable of.

 

If not, use the Chipset utility from Intel to identify the chipset and google for it. On the Intel side you may find the max. memory your pc is cable of.

 

I have a deskpro with 933 MHZ running with 1 GB of memory!

 

Yes, Win98 does have a 512MB space limit.

You need to edit the System.ini if oyu have more than 512 MB Ram.

 

Go to [vcahce] and write there MaxFileCache=524288

You should b able to boot into Win98 with more than 512 MB of Ram.

 

Hope that helps.!

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.