CPU error message on startup (827 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 1 of 6 (827 Views)

CPU error message on startup

During startup I get the error message "CPU fan missing", and
the computer stop booting.

I have checked the CPU fan, and it is connected properly and is
working fine.

I have tried to clear CMOS, but it didn't help.

I have tried to repetedly press F11 (and all other F's) on
startup but it won't get into the BIOS menu.

I have also tried to do a BIOS crisis manouver, using swith no 7
and a diskette with the latest BIOS ROM on. I didn't help.

How can I proceed?

Best regards
Dan Eriksson
Honored Contributor
Posts: 8,239
Registered: ‎10-25-2004
Message 2 of 6 (827 Views)

Re: CPU error message on startup

What model do you have?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 3 of 6 (827 Views)

Re: CPU error message on startup

Hi Ron

I have an oldie: Vectra VL420.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 8,239
Registered: ‎10-25-2004
Message 4 of 6 (827 Views)

Re: CPU error message on startup

Are all the fans working CPU,Power supply and Case?Are the fans plugged unto the right connectors for your form factor.IE desktop, SFF. See this doc. page 1-9. It is also possible that the sensor on the fan has died.
Frequent Advisor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-15-2006
Message 5 of 6 (559 Views)

Re: CPU error message on startup

Reseat fan connector. Put in the right way?
HP Pro
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-11-2015
Message 6 of 6 (104 Views)

Re: CPU error message on startup

Hi Dan,

 

If you have already Re Connected the Fan  and Also performed CMOS reset .

 

I believe the Best best would be to perform a BIOS defaults & then the the BIOS Update here as well .

 

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=58486&lang=en&lang=en&cc=us&cc=us

 

Even After that if it gives you the same error - Then yoU might need to get a new Fan or Swap one froma  working PC to isolate  .

 

Some times Either the connecter on the Board for the Fan itself Might be faulty .

So if its hardware you would have to look into replacements !!

 

 

Reagards,

PraTH_KR

 

 

 

 

Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

**Click on “Kudos” Star if you think this reply helped** Or Mark it as "Solved" if issue got fixed.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.