Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot (2431 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 1 of 6 (2,431 Views)

installing radeon card...error message on boot

I have a d530 convertible tower and decided to get a new video card, so agp going out now, got what I could, a Sapphire Radeon HD 3650.
After installing the card into my computer, it let me get to windows xp & install drivers off the cd. After rebooting I get the error message at bios:

110 - Out of memory space for option ROMs
The option for the following device was unable to run due to memory constraints. If you choose to continue, one or more PCI devices may not work properly.
bus/dev/fcn : 05h/02h/00h

When I hit F1 to continue anyways, the Windows loading screen comes up, and after that the screen goes and stays black.

thanks

jd
Honored Contributor
Posts: 9,770
Registered: ‎10-20-2002
Message 2 of 6 (2,431 Views)

Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot

In your CMOS setup do you have the option to select Advanced > Power-On Options > ACPI/USB Buffer @ Top of Memory > Enable?
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 3 of 6 (2,431 Views)

Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot

I believe so
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 4 of 6 (2,431 Views)

Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot

Yes it has that option
HP Pro
Posts: 1,167
Registered: ‎11-24-2004
Message 5 of 6 (2,431 Views)

Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot

Hi,

Another thing that might get you some more room for you option ROM is to disable PXE Option ROM Download in F10 Setup, Advanced, Device Options. That is assuming you do not do network boots.

Hope this helps,
Scott
Thanks,
HpBiosGuy

I am an HP Employee.
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-15-2013
Message 6 of 6 (1,177 Views)

Re: installing radeon card...error message on boot

PXE turned off did it for me on Z420. Started happenning when I set uup Intel RAID. Also have 2 ATI v7900 cards installed w/Server 2012, using Windows 8 initial driver set...HP is way behind (Jan. 2012 and still shown as beta.........

 

Thanks, this tip squelched 110 error immediately.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.