MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated (113 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
Dirk_27
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-20-2005
Message 1 of 6 (113 Views)

MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

We use Remote installtion server. This generated a new clientname. But normaly when you have to do a new RIS installation on the same client the next time it shout keep the existing name. But it doesn't. I know it has something to do with the GUID, but i can't tackle the problem. Is somebody familiar with this problem
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jim Nielsen
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎10-29-2003
Message 2 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

Hi Dirk,

What computer model do you have this problem with..?

Regards,
Jim
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Dirk_27
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-20-2005
Message 3 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

the problem occurse on any model, but on emodel is EVO D510. I personal think it's a network problem
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Jim Nielsen
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎10-29-2003
Message 4 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

Hi Dirk,

Have you tried to pre-stage a couple of units with name and GUID to check whether the units connect correctly using the specified name..?

To pre-stage a unit, you need to :
1. Obtain the GUID for the unit (normally found in BIOS under System Information)
2. Create a new computer in Active Directory with name and then check the box 'this is a managed computer' to enter the GUID.

When you boot into the RIS server, you will notice the name of the RIS client shown just before the file copying starts. Does this name correspond with the name you entered in Active Directory..?

Regards,
Jim
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Dirk_27
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-20-2005
Message 5 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

This could be a good test, I'm going to try it en I will let you know the results in a week.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Dirk_27
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-20-2005
Message 6 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: MS RIS: new installation a new name is generated

The problem now is the GUID in the local system isn't the same as the RIS gives back.
This is the big problem.
Could it be that the HP routers in the network cause these problems.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation