Intel VT option in BIOS (469 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
JavaJunkie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 1 of 9 (469 Views)
Accepted Solution

Intel VT option in BIOS

For curiosity sake, does anyone know why this option is disabled in the BIOS from the factory?

I have a client asking as to why we do not enable this feature when deploying and I don't have a good explanation.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Rainald T
Posts: 13,835
Registered: ‎10-22-2002
Message 2 of 9 (463 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

Which computer (series and model)?

Rainald
Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Nikhil_HP
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 3 of 9 (460 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

Its mainly a feature that might be required if you plan on running hardware virtualization need by sertail virtualization software. En Example is virtualbox.

 

Again, its a feature, not something that is needed by all.

HP Service Media Library
http://h20464.www2.hp.com/index.html
Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
JavaJunkie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 4 of 9 (448 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

HP 8200 Elite SFF

multiple SKUs

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
JavaJunkie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 5 of 9 (447 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

Thank you for the quick response, but the explanation didn't exactly answer the question.

 

I understand what the feature is and what it is used for.

 

I guess a better question to ask, "Is the Intel VT feature disabled by default from the factory due to security concerns, adverse performance issues fordeployments not utilizing local vituralized environments, or an alternate reason?"

 

Please use plain text.
Regular Advisor
Nikhil_HP
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 6 of 9 (429 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

Its disabled by default as a majority of the users do not use the feature.

HP Service Media Library
http://h20464.www2.hp.com/index.html
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,218
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 7 of 9 (422 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

[ Edited ]

Hi:

 

Here is the answer I believe you were looking for...

 

"Hardware Virtualization is technically a bit of a security hole. While most problems have been fixed there were some rootkits which took advantage of the functionality to get higher running privileges than the OS itself. Basically, it could execute code directly on the CPU (bad).

That being said, it's not really a problem anymore. I don't think I've ever used a laptop/desktop/server which has had it enabled by default. So this isn't just limited to HP. But I'm guessing the general consensus is if someone needs it to be enabled, they have the brains and understanding to do it themselves."

 

http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/hp-touchsmart-tm2-wacom/38191-intel-virtualization-disabled.html

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
JavaJunkie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 8 of 9 (389 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

That is exactly what I was looking for!  Thank you very much for the info.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,218
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 9 of 9 (384 Views)

Re: Intel VT option in BIOS

You're very welcome.

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation