HP dc 7600 memory (1277 Views)
Reply
Visitor
Diepvriezer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Message 1 of 13 (1,277 Views)

HP dc 7600 memory

Hello everybody

 

I have a HP dc 7600 and i install 5GB ram. but my windows 64bit see 3.2GB??

can anybordy help mee?

 

Greets

 

Frankie17

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 2 of 13 (1,257 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Hi:

 

The maximum memory supported in a dc7600 is 4 GB. 

 

You can install 4 x 1GB modules or 2 x 2 GB modules in the appropriate slots. Specs do not state you can install 2 x 2GB however, some have reported success doing that.

 

Fastest speed it will run is at 667MHz if you plan to install PC2-6400 (800 MHz) memory.

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Diepvriezer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Message 3 of 13 (1,248 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

i have now 2x 2GB and 1x1GB Modules in the appropriate slots (both 667MHz). but my windows see 3.2 GB. and i see in the bios 5135 MB ram

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 4 of 13 (1,245 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Very Interesting that the BIOS sees all the memory!

 

Here are the specs:  I can only list the specs.

 

Max supported memory is 4 GB. Seeing 3.2 GB out of 4 GB is normal.

 

http://www.nts-international.com/site/html/modules/PDF/dc7600usdt.pdf

 

Paul

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 5 of 13 (1,238 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Here are the specs on the Intel 945 chipset which is in the dc7600:

 

Max memory is 4 GB. So I would say the limitation is with the chipset, not the BIOS.

 

http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/chipsets/945g/945g-overview.htm

 

The dc7600 does not support C2D processors even though the chipset supports them. That is a limitation in the dc7600 BIOS.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Diepvriezer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Message 6 of 13 (1,237 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

oké, the pc can be possible to 4 GB en not more.  but i am stange that the bios more sees than the OS.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 7 of 13 (1,234 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Yes, I agree. Very strange.

 

I would say the chipset will not let the BIOS report the 5 GB of memory to the Operating system. It is only letting 4 GB go past.

Please use plain text.
Visitor
Diepvriezer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
Message 8 of 13 (1,223 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

oké. Thanks for the information Tikkanen and have a nice day!!

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Linux4Me
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 9 of 13 (1,018 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

If your OS is 32 bit it will only recognise 3 and a bit Meg of ram no matter how much or in what order, it is a limit of 32bit software.
To see the rest of your ram you'll have to install a 64bit version of windows or a 64bit version of Linux - your full amount of ram will be seen in the OS as well as bios. Hope this answers your question.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 10 of 13 (1,014 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Hi:

 

The original poster stated running Win x64.  It is a limitation of the chipset as I stated. Max = 4 GB

 

"I have a HP dc 7600 and i install 5GB ram. but my windows 64bit see 3.2GB??"

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Visitor
JohnBannon
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 11 of 13 (848 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
TOUQEER
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2012
Message 12 of 13 (682 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

I have HP DC7600 ,My PC required PCI driver .So,Is this a SOUND DRIVER or any other? 
plx help DUDE

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 13 of 13 (680 Views)

Re: HP dc 7600 memory

What operating system are you running?

 

If XP, click on the PCI device in the device manager. Then click on the details tab. Post the top string of characters you see.

 

If Vista or W7, go to the same place but now in the Properties drop down list, select the second item (Hardware ID's).

 

Post the top string of characters you see.

 

Those will ID the type and model of the PCI device and I can send you the link to the drivers.

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation