Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu (3098 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
milouille babou
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Message 1 of 6 (3,098 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

Hi
I have HP dc 7100 sff with a cpu intel pentium 4 3.2 ghz with professional XP, BIOS 786c1 v0215 I would like to install one a cpu intel p4 3.80 ghz ease which it will be support by the bios thank you.

ps:forgiveness for my English

Here is the new cpu

Type CPU / Microprocessor
Family Intel Pentium 4
Processor number ? 670
Part number JM80547PG1122MM
BX80547PG3800F
BX80547PG3800FT
Processor markings 3.80GHZ/2M/800/04B
Frequency (GHz) 3.8
Bus speed (MHz) ? 800
Clock multiplier ? 19
Package type 775-land FC-LGA4
Socket type Socket 775 (LGA775)

CPUID 0F43h
Core stepping N0
Processor core Prescott
Manufacturing technology (micron) 0.09
L2 cache size (KB) ? 2048
Features EM64T technology ?
Enhanced SpeedStep technology ?
Execute disable bit ?
Extended Halt state
Hyper-Threading technology
Thermal Monitor 2
Core voltage (V) ? 1.25 - 1.4
Case temperature (°C) ? 72.8
Hyper-Threading Y
Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Posts: 8,239
Registered: ‎10-25-2004
Message 2 of 6 (3,098 Views)

Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

You will get more speed by upgrading the RAM to the max than upgrading the CPU in most applications/ Ther larger amount of RAM allows more of the OS and the programs to remain resident in memory as apposed to having to swap it abck and forth to the HDHere is the www.crucial.com page for your machine. http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=dc7100%20Series%20Small%20Form%20Factor the manuals for your machine are here. http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DocumentIndex.jsp?contentType=SupportManual〈=en&cc=us&docIndexId=64180&taskId=101&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=410112 The one that will tell you if that CPU was used is here. http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00278580/c00278580.pdf
Occasional Visitor
milouille babou
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Message 3 of 6 (3,098 Views)

Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

Hi,thankyou for you quick reply,but your reply dint awnser to my question.My computer has got enough of RAM,i would want to change my CPU,i use this computer for playing untill i can afford myself a new one.I know that it is not a gaming computer,but its just for the moment.

Cheers.
Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (3,098 Views)

Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

I did exactly what your thinking about with the same 3.8ghz CPU upgrade, only in a DC7100-cff version (same M.B.- bios)...and it did make a noticeable difference. In fact I did it in 2 of them. Burning/ripping video/music files etc, is where I notice the upgrade the most. HP has BIOS updates to handle the newer stepping codes, if you should need it. Note - Use the best thermal paste (IC-Diamond) possible, as the stock heatpipe CPU cooler will be marginal, unless you upgrade that to? You can up the stock coolers base fan speed in the bios, which will help a bit.
Honored Contributor
John Y
Posts: 8,773
Registered: ‎04-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (3,098 Views)

Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

Correction to above - CMT version.
Occasional Visitor
milouille babou
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Message 6 of 6 (3,098 Views)

Re: HP dc 7100 sff new cpu

Hi,thankyou for your quick reply.Do i need stepping codes on bios v.02.15,and if i need them where can i get them?

Cheers.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.