HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk (262 Views)
Reply
Occasional Contributor
CA1114038
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2004
Message 1 of 11 (262 Views)

HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

My HP Vectra VL420 will not boot from HD, and checking the setup, the HD is not discovered. Also I swap cables and HD with known good one..still not detected.

The error message at boot up is as follows:\

PXE-E61: media test failure, check cable
PXE-MOF: Exiting intel PXE ROM
Boot failure from previous device
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 2 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Tunde,

Check connection and jumpers again. As far as I know, most Compaq/HP computers would preferably run disks that are jumpered for "cable select" (CS).

POSTURE. Under the CS option, Master goes to the end connector and Slave to the middle connector.

CABLE. There is a coloured side (red generally) on IDE cables. Red wire should go to pin 1 of the IDE port and be turned towards the "power-in" plug of each disk.

FDISK AND FORMAT. Prepare the blank disk to hosting the OS as follows.

1-Run FDISK, option 1, as to apply one single partition to the whole surface of the disk. As necessary, you'll create other partions afterwards.

2-Run FORMAT C:/S. This will turn your C: drive into a boot-disk with system files put to it.

Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
CA650400
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-07-2001
Message 3 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

First,

this message is not an error but only a report of what you BIOS try:

PXE-E61: media test failure, check cable
PXE-MOF: Exiting intel PXE ROM
Boot failure from previous device

Your BOOT order try with your network card and no other peripherals seem to be tried...

Verify in the BIOS if the BOOT sequence contain your floppy, CDROM, HDD, ... and if they are enable.

Also, verify the IDE cable and jumpers on your hard drive like Alain said. This model (VL420) should support hard drive to 30 GB... I think. And if your hard drive is higher in capacity and the BIOS don't detect the correct size, the BIOS should detect the hard drive but you will need to use a disk manager.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1114038
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2004
Message 4 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

I have tried all the jumper settings including cable select, master and slave, but the HD is not detected at all. Please note that this is the original disk with OS that came with the system and was working good until now.

The complete message shown on the screen each time I tried is as follows:


HP e-Diagtools is missing or has not been found on your bootable disk

If you want to run HP e-Diagtools, you can run it from
- your HP recovery CD-ROM
- your dedicated HP e-Diagtools CD-ROM

For more information, connect to http://www.hp.com/desktops/diagtools


Boot failure from previous device
Intel ® Boor agent version 4.0.19
Copyright© 1997-2001, Intel corporation
PXE-E61: media test failure, check cable
PXE-MOF: Exiting intel PXE ROM
Boot failure from previous device


Insert Boot Disktte A:
Press any key when rea
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 5 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Tunde,

It's rather unconventional that a computer stops booting out the HDD all of a sudden.
Could you try retracing the full story or sequence of events preceding the occurence of this problem? No BIOS-flashing? No piece of hardware added/changed?
Also, please specify whether or not pressing F10 still allows for access to the BIOS.

Meanwhile, you may consider the methodology detailed below:

1-Slave the faulty disk into a working computer and run a serious anti-virus over it.
2-Once done, run SCANDISK and check that the surface of the HDD is not containing bad clusters. Repair as appropriate.
3-If the HDD is OK, check your IDE cables in the same working computer.
4-As necessary, purchase UDMA-capable cables (80 conductors, 40 pins). Such cables would support the CS jumper option for sure.
5-Replace the whole stuff back into your computer.
6-Clear CMOS and restart.
7-If the problem persists, boot out of a "restart-floppy" created from Win98 (or upper version), then run FDISK (option 1) and FORMAT C:/S.
8-Finally, reinstall your OS.

Alain.







Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1114038
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2004
Message 6 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

OK Guys,

I got a new HD and I changed the boot order to boot from CDROM....now I get stuck each time at the phase "setup inspecting your computer's hardware configuration" the OS install never get pass this stage, what happens is that at this stage the computer reboots get to same stage and reboot over and over again!!!!!!!!
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 7 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Tunde

I'm afraid I cant't be more explicit on the subject than I was in my previous post, Feb 22, 2005 07:41:40 GMT. Whichever the booting sequence be, the BIOS should search the "initialising section" of each disk concerned.

Provided you have respected the connecting instructions alredy provided, Feb 22, 2005 07:41:40 GMT, you may be wishing to make sure that the HDD has been correctly FDISKed (FDISK option 1) and formatted as C:/S.

Once inserted, W2K or XP install CDs, as well as any "restart-floppy" created from Win98, should boot the system by next start. Thus either of tem would provisionally substitute for the HDD.
Should you have problems with starting from bootable CDs because your system gets running into loop-booting failures, try a "restart floppy" instead and report what happens to this thread.

Cheers,
Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1114038
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2004
Message 8 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Perignon,

Thanks for willing to help out.

I have used w98 restart floppy and FDISKed, format C:/S. the disk successsfully.

After the step above, I try to install the OS again booting from XP CD, but I got stuck at the same stage "setup inspecting your computer's hardware" and the system reboots.

Should I try from inside the W98 restart floppy A: prompt. If yes, how?
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 9 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Tunde,

The answer is yes. Boot again out of Win98 restart floppy, and accept CDROM management. The floppy will load a generic CDROM driver.

Once done, insert XP CD and move from A> prompt to D: (provided this is the default drive for your CDROM). Type SETUP (or INSTALL (depending on the language utilised) and hit the key Enter. Finally follow XP instructions. NOTE: your are not obliged to opt for the NTSF format yet. This can be done once you are sure that the OS is working correctly.

Good luck,
Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
CA1114038
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2004
Message 10 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Perignon,

Once again thanks for your help. I still can't boot from CDROM...but now I think I know where the problem lies, both HDD and CDROM are set to primary slave and secondary slave! Do you think I will ever be able to boot from CDROM with this configuration...also jumper settings on both HDD and CDROM are cable select.

Thanks
Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Perignon
Posts: 3,775
Registered: ‎03-11-2003
Message 11 of 11 (206 Views)

Re: HP Vectra VL420 Will not boot from Hard Disk

Tunde,

1-Preferably, the HDD where the OS is installed should be connected to the Primary Port and be the Master drive.

2-CDROMs, DVDROMs, Combos and other optical drives can be either slaved to the HDD put to the primary port or set as Master to the secondary Port.

3-However, some "specialists" recommend that all HDDs be grouped to the primary port, whereas "slower" optical drives would go to the secondary port. This said the slow-down effect has stopped being a subjetc of concern with recent and speedy CDROMs and DVDROMs.

4-Personally, I'd respect the above rule only where a CD-R or DVD-R is concerned and I'd position such a "burner" as Master to the secondary port.

5-REMINDER: Where disks are jumpered for "cable-select", Master goes to the end connector of the cable and Slave to the middle connector.

Alain.
Frustrations surmounted are paving the way to expertise.
Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation