HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400 (43627 Views)
Reply
Occasional Visitor
lizzardkiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 1 of 85 (43,627 Views)

HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I just saw that exist a microcode update for this machine which can provide support for processors having CPU IDs 6F6, 6F2, 6FD, 10676, and 1067A. (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...

The Pentium Dual Core E5700 and Intel Core2Duo E8400 have CPU ID 1067A.

So can I use this processor on DC7700?

I know that on the Intel site is specified that Q965 chipset wouldn't support that processor but what's for this microcode update?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

PS: Sorry for the language.

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,297
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 2 of 85 (43,619 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi:

 

Here is the link to the quickspecs on the dc7700:

 

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12543_na/12543_na.HTML

 

You can scroll down on the web page to see the list of supported processors.

 

The dc7700 will not support an E5700 or an E8400.

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
lizzardkiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 3 of 85 (43,618 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

The list from that link is not complete and is made in 2008!

So, I need to know if someone try to put an E5xxx or E8xxx on DC7700 after the microcode update v. 1.06 Rev. A (21 dec. 2010) - http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...

 

 

"TITLE: Microcode Update for HP 786E BIOS Family Computers with Intel
Processors

VERSION: 1.06 Rev. A
DESCRIPTION:
This package contains a utility that can be used to install or upgrade the
processor microcode for HP 786E BIOS Family Computers with Intel Processors.
This utility works with the supported operating systems.

PURPOSE: Routine
SOFTPAQ NUMBER: SP51243
SUPERSEDES: SP38586
EFFECTIVE DATE: December 21, 2010
CATEGORY: BIOS
SSM SUPPORTED: No

PRODUCT TYPE(S):
Desktops

HARDWARE PRODUCT MODEL(S):
HP Compaq dc5700 Microtower PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc5700 Small Form Factor PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7700 Convertible Minitower PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7700 Small Form Factor PC: All Models
HP Compaq dc7700 Ultra-Slim Desktop PC: All Models

HP Compaq dx7300 Microtower PC: All Models
HP Compaq dx7300 Slim Tower PC: All Models
HP rp5700 Business Desktop: All Models
HP rp5700 Point of Sale System: All Models

SOFTWARE PRODUCT(S):
None

OPERATING SYSTEM(S):
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows 7 32-bit Enterprise
Microsoft Windows 7 32-bit Home Basic
Microsoft Windows 7 32-bit Professional
Microsoft Windows 7 32-bit Ultimate
Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Enterprise
Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Basic
Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Professional
Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 32 Edition
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64 Edition
Microsoft Windows Vista Enterprise 32 Edition
Microsoft Windows Vista Enterprise 64 Edition
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic 32 Edition
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Microsoft Windows XP Professional

LANGUAGE(S):
Global

ENHANCEMENTS:
- Updates the Intel Processor microcode for processors having CPU IDs 6F6, 6F2,
6FD, 10676, and 1067A.

NOTE: To determine the CPU ID, press F10 on the target computer during startup
to run the Setup Utility, and then view File/System Information for the CPU ID,
which is listed after the Processor Stepping.

PREREQUISITES:
None

INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Download the file by clicking the "Download" or "Obtain Software" button and
saving the file to a folder on your hard drive (make a note of the folder where
the downloaded file is saved).

2. Double-click the downloaded file and follow the on-screen instructions.

Copyright (c) 2010 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P."

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Avenger1609
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 4 of 85 (43,333 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

@Paul

Have you ever try to put an E5700 (or something like that) on DC7700 with latest microcode? No you never

And if you are expert. pls dont post that stupid link for CPU support. It old and not up to date

 

@Lizzad

The DC7700 can support CPU with id: 1067A

Mine is run well with E5300 (id: 1067A). However

When update DC7700 microcode to version 1.06, then put an E5300

For the first time booting, I received " cpu microcode error" and the CPU fan go crazy

 

Bios&Windows say it is an E5300 with 1200Mhz

CPUz say E5300 with 1200/800

-->try to update CPU microcode again and it run just fine

Bios say it is an E5300 with 1200/800

WIndows say: E5300 with 2600Ghz/800 no IEST support

CPUz say: E5300 idle at 1200Mhz and full load at 2600Mhz that mean IEST supported

 

Because Q965 chipset support 1067A cpu is not by Intel offical

So do it at your own risk

HP microcode update is not easy to do

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,297
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 5 of 85 (43,331 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

You must be the same rude person as this ID, huh? 

 

You gave youself away with your totally rude attitude.

 

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware/Dc-7700-with-celeron-e3400/m-p/592829

 

and this one...

 

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware/dc-7700-with-celeon-e3400/m-p/731639#M33893

 

If you have something constructive to say, then say it nice, or keep your nasty attitude to yourself.

 

Now with that out of the way, I would like to add that this person installed a celeron E3400. Now why someone wants to do that rather than installing the Pentium C2D E6700 processor is beyond me, since the older E6700 is a better performing processor.

 

Here is the side by side proof:

 

http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=27251,42772,

 

Also, he has no proof that any other C2D processor higher than an E6700 will definitely work because he hasn't tried it. Just because the processors have the same manufacturing specifications, does not mean they will all work. HP also puts restrictions on the BIOS. Many people have found that out the hard way installing a processor which in theory should work, but doesn't. That is because it was locked out in the BIOS.

 

So, if you want to try installing a Pentium C2D greater than an E6700, you can only hope it will work.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Avenger1609
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 6 of 85 (43,291 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Hi Paul,

 

Please read carefully before saying about who to be rude

 

At first, lizzardkiss say

 

"Hi, I just saw that exist a microcode update for this machine which can provide support for processors having CPU IDs 6F6, 6F2, 6FD, 10676, and 1067A. (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12... The Pentium Dual Core E5700 and Intel Core2Duo E8400 have CPU ID 1067A.

So can I use this processor on DC7700? I know that on the Intel site is specified that Q965 chipset wouldn't support that processor but what's for this microcode update?

Thanks in advance.

PS: Sorry for the language."

 

He know what the DC 7700 can support CPU but for the id 1067A he not sure about it

And you are about to say

 

"Hi: Here is the link to the quickspecs on the dc7700: http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12543_na/12543_na.HTML You can scroll down on the web page to see the list of supported processors. The dc7700 will not support an E5700 or an E8400. Paul"

 

The link is not help at all And about 1067A CPU you say :"The dc7700 will not support an E5700 or an E8400."

 

Is it true & clear if you never try to do and saying that? ==not help at all

when read your post, i hope that you will advise people to try at their own risk, under testing or something better. Not the words" will not support"

And Yes, we know that you are an expert

 

what do you say about my case, remember E5300& E5700 are in the same group & family, E5700 will definately work with DC7700 Just about E7xxx or E8xxx I haven't tried, so we will know later.

 

But at least the E5xxx( with id 1067A) work fine Another thing to notice, Does HP release cpu microcode update V1.06 just for looking or reference?

Anybody agree?

 

 "Now with that out of the way, I would like to add that this person installed a celeron E3400. Now why someone wants to do that rather than installing the Pentium C2D E6700 processor is beyond me, since the older E6700 is a better performing processor."

 

 why people try to put E5xxx, pentium E6xxx, or E8400? rather than C2D E6700 ?

Those CPU are 45nm products, will provide less heat, high speed and easy to find

 

 Look at the others manufacturer do: http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=2659

 

So, can we hope that DC7700 will work with E7xxx or E8xxx and get better performace? sure, it about time Although we know this is not support by Intel Official

 

"Here is the side by side proof: http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=27251,42772,"

 

E6700 VS E3400, no need to compare

Conclusion:

To everybody, If you need to upgrade CPU with id 1067A, then try it, it worth to do

 

Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,297
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 7 of 85 (43,275 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Hi, Avenger:

 

I apologize for being wrong about the processor information.

 

I have just read the microcode release notes of December 21, 2010, and I agree with you that they were released to support the newer Intel E series processors with the 45 NM manufacturing technology with the CPU ID's listed. That was my error for not investigating this more before posting a reply originally to lizardkiss.

 

Therefore, I also agree that the information in the dc7700 quickspecs released by HP is out of date.

 

Thank you for your explanation of why these newer processors may better than the Conroe processors in some respects.

 

In the future, I will refer anyone asking about CPU upgrades on a dc7700 to the microcode update.

 

I also appreciate your efforts in trying to be more polite in your last reply.

 

We have a saying in the USA: "You get a lot more flies with honey, then you do with vinegar."

 

Maybe you have a similar saying in your country too.

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
blaqadanu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 8 of 85 (43,212 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi Avenger1609

 

Could you please tell me if the latest  786E bios upgrade   is applicable for 786E1 bios.

 

As you known there are two versions of the hp dc7700 ultra slim pc. One with processors with vPro technology, which have the 786E1 bios. 

 

And the other with processors, such as a Pentium D, without vPro technology, it takes the 786E bios.

 

I have tried to upgrade my 786E1 bios with the latest  Microcode Update for HP 786E BIOS Family Computers with Intel Processors but it doesn't update my bios.

 

I would welcome your advice because I would like to upgrade my cpu to E8400

 

Kind regards

 

blaqadanu

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
gsomerville
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-12-2011
Message 9 of 85 (43,196 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

I thought i'd register to let you know that I upgraded my D7700 CPU to an E7200 two days ago and it was recognised correctly after the microcode update was applied. The speed is identified correctly in the BIOS and Windows and it's a fair bit faster than before. I am however having some stability issues with the display no longer coming back on after standy and my wireless network connection is dropping out a lot more often for no good reason so I have a bit more digging to do or I'll revert back to my old CPU because stability trumps speed in my book.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
blaqadanu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 10 of 85 (43,193 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi gsomerville

 

I am very sorry to bother you again but could you please tell me which bios you had in your dc7700 before you did the bios upgrade.

 

Was your original bios 786E or 786E1.

 

786E1 bios is for dc7700 with intel vPro core 2 duo processors.

 

vPro bios, 786E1, I think,  cannot be upgraded with the new microcode.

 

Thanks for your help

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Avenger1609
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 11 of 85 (43,180 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Hi, blaqadanu

 

There are something that you miss understand about 786Ex Bios

 

Eg: DC7700 and DC7300 use 786E1 bios, DC5700 use 786E2 bios type

 

About your DC 7700SFF

HP 786E1 bios have 2 lastest version: 1.15 for non-vPro technology, 3.05 for vPro technology

And  Microcode Update for HP 786E BIOS Family Computers with Intel Processors is applicable for both 786E1 and 786E2 bios

The latest microcode is 1.06( before that are 1.05, 1.04.....)

 

"I have tried to upgrade my 786E1 bios with the latest  Microcode Update for HP 786E BIOS Family Computers with Intel Processors but it doesn't update my bios."

 

Ofcourse microcode update will not update bios. But vice versa

Which version of bios 1.15 or 3.05 you have updated? If not, then update to version 3.05.

So,when you already update to v3.05 that mean you also have microcode V1.05 and update to vPro version

In this version you are able to use CPU with 65nm technology ( Eg: E2140, E2200, C2D6300, C2D6700....)

 

Update microcode to version 1.06 is the most important thing and your PC can use CPU with id 1067A ( Eg: pentium E5700, E6500.....C2D 7xxx, 8xxx.......) Remember this update only for CPU microcode, your Bios version still 3.05

Download sp51243.exe (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...) and follow the instruction, you must better use an USB flashdrive to do update CPU microcode. I have failed to update for the first time because I was use a CD-RW

And for the first time boot up with E5300, i still receive microcode error message, After update CPU microcode one more time, it is OK!

 Unfortunately, I have no time to test with E7XXX, E8XXX, pls let me & other people know if it work

 

Goodluck! blaqadanu

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
blaqadanu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 12 of 85 (43,158 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi Avenger1609

 

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed reply to my query.

 

To begin, I have a dc7700 sff vPro machine. The current bios is v3.05. I have successfully done the v1.06 microcode update, today.

 

I installed my E8400 processor. Powered up the dc7700. And immediately there are bleeps and flashing red lights on the front panel. Bleeps and flashing lights continue. Dc7700 does not boot.

 

I removed the E8400 from the machine. I put the original E6300 processor back in the dc7700.

 Dc7700 boots just fine.

Maybe there is a problem with my E8400 processor. Or maybe the microcode v1.06 update is not compatible with the E8400 cpu.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Take care

blaqadanu

 

 

 



Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
lizzardkiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Message 13 of 85 (43,139 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

@avenger1609 - thx for info - helped so much.

 

Finally I got a Pentium E6600 and I have installed on my DC7700 (10 hours ago). The process was like you have described: "cpu microcode error" on the first boot and the CPU fan go crazy. 

-> updated microcode again and I have this:

- Bios: E6600 @3.06 - 1600 MHz/FSB 1066 MHz at 1.1 V

- Win: E6600 - 3.06GHz/FSB 1066MHz, 2 cores

- CPUz: E6600 @3.06 - 1600/1066 on idle

 

I'll run some test to see if worth it.

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Avenger1609
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Message 14 of 85 (43,113 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

@blaqadanu

In my opinion,

If CPU microcode update not work and the PC still can boot up

But it will show the error message

About your case:

 - Try to check again to make sure that the E8400 is OK, may be you need another board to do. But I think the E8400 still function because DC7700 can start and give Beep error, that mean CPU working. If not DC7700 will give out nothing, except fan' noise. Just check to make sure.

 - Since  DC7700 can not pass POST, you may need to check your RAM( take out all, just leave one), VGA card if you have...May be you need to load default Bios

 -Find out the beep code

 - Becau the E8400 has 1333FSB and Q965 chipset support 1066FSB is highest, It only can support E8400 by OC

So if HP lock this function, there is no way get E8400 to work with DC7700. But i am not sure yet because Gigabyte, ASUS.... can do( you can check at my previous post). Since others user can get DC7700 work with 1066FSB CPU like Pentium E6600 and E7200.... that mean the microcode update is working.

I will get an E8400 next week, then we will get result.

 

@lizzardkiss

Your DC7700 is same as mine for giving same behavior, but my Bios still says I have E5300 - 2.6Ghz installed and the speed are 1200/800, and my Vcore is 1.288V  that so funny . But I can see the performing is much better than the old E2180 and E4300.

@ Paul

Please give us some suggestion or advice. Thank you very much!

 

 



Please use plain text.
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,297
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 15 of 85 (43,104 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi:

 

I agree that the E8400 will not work because of the 1333 FSB.

 

Even though the motherboard is made by ASUS, HP has locked out any ability to OC the motherboard through the BIOS settings. None exist to do so.

 

I think the best the dc7700 can do is the C2D E7600 with the latest microcode update.

 

Paul

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
blaqadanu
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 16 of 85 (43,034 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Hi Avenger1609

 

I have tested the E8400 processor in another motherboard. The E8400 works ok on the other motherboard.

    

Maybe  even  with the latest microco update, the dc7700 ssf does not support the E8400 processor.

 

My dc7700 ssf has an ati radeon 4350 hd graphics card in.

 

I can't see why that would stop the E8400 from working.

 

Maybe you should think again before you buy a E8400 for your  hp dc7700. You could be wasting your money!

 

Thanks for your help

 

take care

 

blaqadanu

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
Ryan Croussore
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2009
Message 17 of 85 (42,873 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 CPU upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

 

Dear lizzardkiss, I am wanting to upgrade my dc5700 SFF station to a dual core processor so I can run the newer Windows Home Server 2011 (only 64-bit CPU is supported).

 

Right now I have a Intel Pentium (R) 4 CPU 3.00 Ghz

 

So you think if I get the latest BIOS and latest Microcode update on there I can put on one of the E6600 Cpu's like you have stated that you did? Did everything work okay in the long run? 

 

I would greatly appreciate your input on this!

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Lucas_E
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 18 of 85 (42,503 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Upgraded my DC7700 with an E7500 by using the microcode update 1.06

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Visitor
Lucas_E
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 19 of 85 (42,501 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

the chipset doesn't support 1333fsb so the e8400 is out of the question. I've upgraded mine to an e7500, that's about the max.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
DasShrubber
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 20 of 85 (40,990 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

I have an HP DC7700 that I've done the following to.

 

1) Updated the Bios to 1.16 Rev. A (11 Oct 2011) and Microcode 1.06 Rev. A (21 Dec 2010)

2) Installed a E7600 processor.

 

The computer runs without any issues, but appears to be running at HALF speed.  I idea why?

 

The intel processor indentification utility is states that the excpected speed of the processor @3.06GHz, but the reported speed is only 1.59GHz.

 

CPU T:4, F:6, M:17, S:A, Rev: A0B

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
DasShrubber
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 21 of 85 (40,933 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

I was able to get the CPU running at full speed using CrystalCPUID and changing the multipler from 6 to 11.5 (max).

 

The Bios and/or the CPU Microcode must have an error in it.

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
TheGreatAus
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 22 of 85 (40,708 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Just as a heads up, if you need to do a microcode update, you will need to make a bootable USB (or diskette).  Follow the instructions here: http://www.biosflash.com/e/bios-boot-usb-stick.htm to get the software and make a bootable USB disk.  With that in hand, take the contents from the C:\SWSetup\SP51243\DOS Flash folder and then cut and paste into a bootable disk.  

 

Then, restart the PC, press F9 after the boot up, then boot from the USB.  It should load to a C:\ prompt. 

 

Type flashbin.exe and keep typing Y.  Just dont shut the PC off!! 

 

I updated the BIOS, and when I went thru with the above, apparently my microcode was already up to date.  This is just a last resort.  Good luck all!!

 

Edit: I installed the E7600 and despite having the most updated microcode, I did have to reinstall the microcode like Avenger said.  The mobo recognized the chip, but the microcode was off and the CPU fan went bonkers.  Reflashing the microcode worked and the CPU runs almost fine...see post below

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
TheGreatAus
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 23 of 85 (40,623 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

[ Edited ]

Dasshrubber,

 

I have the exact same problem you do.  I just installed the e7600 3.06 GHz chip into the dc7700, but after checking CPU-Z, the core speed was at 1597.8 MHz.  In fact, after doing the Windows Experience Index, my WEI rating for the processor went DOWN from the old 1.8 GHZ dual core.  WTF HP??

 

However, your suggestion of Crystal CPUID seems to be a temporary fix for this problem, and brought the speed from 1.598 GHz at idle, to the multiplied 11.5 value of 3.059 GHz when running full bore.  Enabling the Intel Enhanced Speed Step works...but how do you make this a permanent solution??  The instructions at the bottom of the crystalCPUID link: http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalCPUID/index-e.html , are beyond my capacity I think!!  I do not know how to interpret this:

 

"Set /CQ & /HIDE command line option and put shortcut on Startup. If you would like to get more information, please read ReadMeCpuid.txt.
example
"C:\CrystalCPUID\CrystalCPUID.exe"
-> "C:\CrystalCPUID\CrystalCPUID.exe" /CQ /HIDE"

 

Can anyone help with this?? 

 

HP, why did your microcode/BIOS update not allow the e7600 to work at full capacity without rigging it up!!  Once the Intel Speed Step is enabled, the chip works great and the computer is quite snappy.  The previous dual core 1.86 GHz chip got a 4.9 on WEI; this chip with the Intel Speed Step enabled got a 6.6, no over clocking.  Very snazzy!!

 

Thank you DasShrubber! 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Frequent Advisor
TheGreatAus
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 24 of 85 (40,529 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

Is there any way to get some help from HP on how to solve this?  I am getting a new SSD for the mobo, so I will be reinstalling windows 7 Professional 64-bit and seeing how a fresh install works...but if there is any other way to tackle this, any help would be much appreciated

Please use plain text.
Occasional Advisor
DasShrubber
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 25 of 85 (40,417 Views)

Re: HP DC7700 cpu upgrade to Pentium E5700; E6700 or Core2Duo E8400

From what I've read, if the MB does not recongnize the CPU it will default to the lowest multiplier 6x.  So something must be wrong with the microcode update.

 

How did the re-install of Windows 7 go?

Please use plain text.
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation