Ethernet Controller Driver Missing D220MT (5103 Views)
Occasional Visitor
Kelly King
Message 1 of 12 (5,103 Views)

Ethernet Controller Driver Missing D220MT

I did a clean install using Windows XP SP2 OS
and my Ethernet Controller, VGA and Sound Card drivers were all missing.

I successfully downloaded the VGA and Sound drivers, but the driver for the Ethernet does not work.(downloaded all from HP's website)

Please help

S/N MXD35007RK
P/N: DS940A#ABA
Model D220MT
Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Message 2 of 12 (5,101 Views)

Re: Ethernet Controller Driver Missing D220MT

You need to download and unblock the chipset driver first and then reboot and then install the other drivers.
Occasional Visitor
Kelly King
Message 3 of 12 (5,101 Views)

I have downloaded the Driver Chipset, and have installed, however I am a novice and do not understand how to "unblock" the chipset driver.

Please clarify?
Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Message 4 of 12 (5,101 Views)

To unblock a file after you download the file right click the downloaded file,Select the properties tab and on the window that comes towards The bottom click the unblock button and then the apply button towards the bottom. That will unblock the file.
Occasional Visitor
Kelly King
Message 5 of 12 (5,101 Views)

I have downloaded the Chipset driver, but because I do not have a Ethernet controller driver I cannot access the web on the PC I am trying to fix. I have to use another computer to do the downloads.

I have downloaded the chipset driver, unblocked and transferred the file via my 2GB flash drive. After installing the chipset driver, rebooting, then installing the Ethernet driver and rebooting, it still does nothing to update the driver.

Still shows no driver in the control panel's, device manager window (yellow question mark.

I have attempted to search for the driver using the device manager to install, but it is never recognized and cannot be found even though it is in my documents file folder.

HELP!!