Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ? (2389 Views)
Reply
Frequent Advisor
WSB
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-07-2007
Message 1 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

I'm looking to upgrade from XP Pro to Win 7.


I know I need a 'clean install', but will an 'upgrade CD' work for this, or do I really need the 'Full' CD ?


HP tech support gives me conflicting information.


Is anyone aware of any issues, problems, driver conflicts, BIOS settings, tricks,
hints, etc... that I should be aware of
with a Win7 upgrade ??


Any advise ?



Current setup:
HP compaq d530 CMT (DC577AV)
3.20ghz HyperThread 32-Bit CPU
HP motherboard 085Ch,Bus Clock 800mhz
BIOS: HP 786B2 v1.11 07/10/2003
RAM: 4GB installed, 3582MB seen by XP
Video: 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS AGP
HD: ST3250820AS (250.06 GB)
Windows XP Pro, SP3 et al
Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Posts: 8,239
Registered: ‎10-25-2004
Message 2 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Microspft has an upgrade wizard for 7. There have been some that have upgraded D530s to vista with no reported problems and this is just a guess but If Vista will load 7 should load. I personally would stay away from the upgrade version. I have found by going to a whitebox builder that I could by the full version cheaper than the upgrade version and then there isn't any worry. I don't think an upgrade from XP is possible. The only upgrade that comes to mind is a BIOS upgrade to Version 2.44. I have upgraded one D530 to 2.43 without any problems The BIOS upgrade is here. http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12...
Frequent Advisor
WSB
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-07-2007
Message 3 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Yep, the MS Win7 Upgrade Adviser software says it all is OK, but that I should get more info from HP about drivers, etc....

HP tech support has told me on several calls:

1/ Sure, Win7 will work on a d530
2/ Win7 will not wok on a d530
3/ Sure, Win7 will work on a d530
4/ Try it & see.

What is the BIOS 'upgrade' for ?
Allow Win7 to work ?
(confused)


ANYBODY ACTUALLY DONE IT?
:-D
Honored Contributor
Pieter 't Hart
Posts: 1,984
Registered: ‎09-04-2002
Message 4 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Done fresh install, dual boot aside WXP, and upgrade on d530 with 1Gb ram.
using IDE disk and SATA disk.
But not from HP-OEM pre-install, but WXP from volume license CD!
encounterd no big problems.
After installation windowsupdate will look for new drivers on the internet.

Keep a copy of the network drivers for W2k/vista at hand (on usb stick) for if this did not detect correctly during initial install.

Remember it's always a good idea to make a backup (image) first.

AFAIK only "normal" upgrade rules apply.
you cannot upgrade from a different base-language version, and you cannot upgrade from XPprof to W7home etc...
Frequent Advisor
WSB
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-07-2007
Message 5 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Pieter, I'm glad to 'talk' to one who has done it. :-)


I do have a home network, so where would I find the network drivers you suggest I store off-line ?
Honored Contributor
Rainald T
Posts: 13,839
Registered: ‎10-22-2002
Message 6 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

My good old d530 USDT at present is my test-machine.
It's running fine with "triple" boot:
- XP Pro,
- Vista Enterprise 32,
- Win7 Pro.

Everything works fine.
Display and sound drivers need a bit of care (original Intel and Realtek drivers) nut no other problems.

Naturally only the basic Aero design is available.

Rainald


Honored Contributor
Ron Silver_1
Posts: 8,239
Registered: ‎10-25-2004
Message 7 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

I would upgrade the BIOS from the 1.11 to at least the 2.43 the description of the updates is here. http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12... They are for processor upgrades mainly But read the notes if you do update it.
Frequent Advisor
WSB
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-07-2007
Message 8 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Thanks Ron,
Do I need any new(er) 'micro-code' as well ?
Honored Contributor
Pieter 't Hart
Posts: 1,984
Registered: ‎09-04-2002
Message 9 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

>>> so where would I find the network drivers <<<

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DriverDownload.jsp?prodNameId=316722〈=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=316720&taskId=135
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,377
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 10 of 12 (2,389 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

I upgraded 2 d530 CMT's to Windows 7 32 Bit with no problems whatsoever.

I highly recommend you get an AGP video card for it.

Either the GeForce 6200 128MB AGP video card or the Radeon 9600SE 128MB AGP video card.

If you only have the native on board video, it the W7 Aero and graphics acceleration features do not work, and this detracts from the otherwise pleasant upgrade.

I make these recommendations on the fact that I have each of these cards in my 2 d530's and they work flawlessly. Since the P/S is only 240W I didn't want to put something much stronger in there. I only use the PC's for internet, e-mail and other office applications, no gaming or CAD.

I was amazed that W7 had every driver for this PC with the exception of the sound, which upon connection to the internet, W7 automatically downloaded the updated sound card driver.

My CMT's have bios version 2.44
SATA HDD's and optical drives (changed out the IDE drives in there).

They came with P4 2.66 CPU's but I upgraded them to the P4 3.2/512 L2 cache.

Oe has 3 MB of PC3200 (512MB, 1GB, 512MB, 1GB) and one has 4MB of PC3200 (4x1GB).

They both run real nice with these improvements.

Paul
Honored Contributor
Paul Tikkanen
Posts: 3,377
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 11 of 12 (2,195 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

Oh, and yes, if you have XP on the drive now, you only need an upgrade disk. W7 will prompt you to do a clean install. It is just checking your PC for the existing qualifying OS.

Remember, 32 Bit OS only. These machines do not have 64 bit capable processors.
Occasional Visitor
smokeyCity
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-23-2014
Message 12 of 12 (1,214 Views)

Re: Anyone upgraded a d530 to Windows 7 yet ?

yes. I just did it. windows 7 Pro SP1. Installed perfectly all drivers auto installed by WIn 7.

 

It works. Just do it.

 

Smokeycity

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.