Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources (395 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
SanjeevR
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 1 of 6 (692 Views)

Sitescope consuming too much of resources

Hi,

 

We are observing that sitescope is creating huge number of .hprof file on the server. These .hprof file has consumed more than 200 GB on the server and due to this there is not enough space left.

 

Is there any pointer why these files are growing like anything. How to free up the disk.

 

Thanks.

HP Expert
kenneth.gonzalez
Posts: 1,631
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
Message 2 of 6 (671 Views)

Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources

[ Edited ]

These are java heap space dump files. You either size with config tool or reduce workload in SiS to avoid memory exhaustion.

Removing this java parameter from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE -> SYSTEM -> CurrentControlSet -> Services -> <SiteScope service> -> ServiceParam will prevent these files to appear:

-XX:+HeapDumpOnOutOfMemoryError

 

 

BTW these are safe to delete.

Kenneth Gonzalez
HP Support

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.

If you haven’t tried it yet, come and join us in our entitled forums at Support Customer Forums
HP Expert
Dmitry Shevchenko
Posts: 4,817
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 3 of 6 (670 Views)

Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources

.hprof files are generated once JVM crashes due to OutOfMemory errors. So if you see lots of such files you have serious problems with your SiteScope. Deleting these .hprof files is not a problem, but you should make sure that they won't be created again and again.

Regular Advisor
SanjeevR
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 4 of 6 (664 Views)

Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources

Thanks Kenneth Gonzalez.

 

I checked the parameters which you mentioned  under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE .but didnt found that parameter added.Any reason for this.

 

Thanks.

HP Expert
kenneth.gonzalez
Posts: 1,631
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
Message 5 of 6 (656 Views)

Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources

Maybe files are old, param was removed already...
Kenneth Gonzalez
HP Support

If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.

If you haven’t tried it yet, come and join us in our entitled forums at Support Customer Forums
Advisor
OpenView_Mike
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 6 of 6 (395 Views)

Re: Sitescope consuming too much of resources

Increasing java heap via the Configuration Tool and Sizing sets the maximum heap at 1 GB. Even if you have plenty of RAM.

 

I've attempted 4 GB and 2 GB in the SiteScope startup registry key, and both result in SiteScope not starting.

 

How can this be overcome? What's going on in the background with the SiteScope configuration tool ~ in other words, what locations or configuration files should I change to get SiteScope to run with say 8 GB Java Heap?

 

Thanks.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.