SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor" (802 Views)
Reply
Regular Advisor
GiuBal
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎09-01-2005
Message 1 of 8 (1,048 Views)

SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Hello,

I'm building a new 'SQL Server Monitor', after choosing from the server list a box with sql 2005 ent.edt with 2 instance in 'SQL instance name' I find 'SQL Server' only. Is there any settings that permit to see all instances ?

Anyone can help me ?
Honored Contributor
David Campeau
Posts: 1,079
Registered: ‎04-12-2007
Message 2 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

There was a Monitor Fix for SiteScope 10 dealing with SQL Templates.

"Microsoft SQL monitor and Microsoft SQL Server 2005 solution template now have an SQL Instance Name field that enables you to select the SQL server instance you want to monitor from the list of SQL instances running on the selected server. This avoids having to manually add counter variables where SiteScope could not get the counters from the SQL server."

If your not using the template then I wonder if the instance will be available? I've never used the SQL monitor, but I remembered reading the above when it came out.

Regular Advisor
GiuBal
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎09-01-2005
Message 3 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"


Hello David,

thanks for your answer, I bad explained my problem, the monitor has SQL Instance Name field but is not popolated with instances name but has "SQL Server" entry only.

I don't understand why the monitor is not able to retrieve instances, probably I missed something in sitescope preferences configuration or there is authorization problem.

Regards
Occasional Visitor
Thomas Sepstrup
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2009
Message 4 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Hi

I have the exact same problem. The SQL Instance Name drop down is not populated with the instance names.

Did you find a solution?

/Thomas
Regular Advisor
GiuBal
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎09-01-2005
Message 5 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Hi Thomas,

bring up to SiteScope 10.11 resolve the problem, all instances are showed correctly.

Regards
Advisor
nagaty
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 6 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Dears,

Try to change the method of connection to the SQL servers to WMI instead of Netbios

Regards,
Nader
Advisor
nagaty
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 7 of 8 (1,035 Views)

Re: SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Dear GiuBal,

As per HP Support, this issue is solved in Sitescope 11.

BR,
Nader
Super Advisor
AlexeyGlukhov
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 8 of 8 (802 Views)

SiteScope 10 "SQL Monitor"

Hello all !

 

SiS host: v 11.13, Windows Server 2008 Ent SP2 x64.

MS SQL host: MS SQL Server 2008 R2 (SP2) 10.50.4000.0 Enterprise Edition (64-bit), Windows Server 2008 Std R2 SP1 x64.

 

The same problem - I can't "see" MS SQL Instances in MS SQL Server monitor (look at the attached screenshot).

Best regards,
Alexey
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.