Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC? (869 Views)
Reply
Valued Contributor
TEX2020
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 1 of 12 (911 Views)

How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Hello All,

 

How do I remove the Profile Database from under the Admin -> Platform -> Database Profiles?

 

I do not see this process explained in any of the BAC guides.

 

Any infomration grreatly appreciated.

 

Thanks.

Tex2020
HP Expert
Dmitry Shevchenko
Posts: 4,853
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 2 of 12 (901 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

The process is very simple - you click on an icon with red cross and detele it. Of course, you need to make sure first that you have no monitoring entities using this profile database.

Valued Contributor
TEX2020
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 3 of 12 (897 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Dmitry,

 

In BAC 7.55 there is no RED X to click on to delete the PROFILE DB from within BAC in Admin -> Platform Admin -> Database Management

 

Is there somewhere else that this is done?

 

Thanks.

Tex2020
HP Expert
Dmitry Shevchenko
Posts: 4,853
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 4 of 12 (895 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Apparently I don't have access to such ancient thing as BAC 7.55, but I cannot believe there is no button with red (okay, maybe not red but different color) cross icon. It has always been there and if you open BSM 7.50 Platform Administration guide, p.180 you will see it yourself.

 

Maybe you are trying to get rid of a default database, or as I mentioned earlier the one still in use by a some monitoring asset like BPM or SiteScope profile?

Regular Advisor
ParagC
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
Message 5 of 12 (887 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Hi TEX2020,

 

You won't be able to remove it if it is the default database or the only profile database you have associated with your BAC 7x version.

 

Regards,

Parag

Valued Contributor
TEX2020
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 6 of 12 (885 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Parag ro Dmitry,

 

What if its the default for BSM 9.20?

 

How do I remove it from within the Database Management area under Platform Adminstration?

 

Any info appreciated.

 

Thanks again...

Tex2020
Valued Contributor
NagendraPaladi
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 7 of 12 (882 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

By Default you do not get any Profile Database. You might have created the profile DB by using the DB Config Wizard or from the BSM Console DB Management.

Valued Contributor
TEX2020
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 8 of 12 (879 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

NagendraPaladi,

 

Yes, but there is no option to Delete the created PROFILE DB in BSM that I can see.

 

How do I delete it to create a new one? I do not see this in the BSM guides.

 

Any info appreciated.

 

THanks.

Tex2020
HP Expert
Dmitry Shevchenko
Posts: 4,853
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 9 of 12 (875 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

BSM 9.20 Platform Administration guide, Database Management Page:

 

UI Element - <red cross>

Description: Disconnects the database or user schema.

Note:

You cannot delete the default profile database or a database which is in use.

 

UI Element - Add

Description:

Adds a Microsoft SQL server database or Oracle server user schema, as specified

in the dropdown database list.

Frequent Advisor
Syed Uzair D Hashmi
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎11-17-2009
Message 10 of 12 (869 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Have you gone through the BAC 7.55 Admin pdf to understand if there's a different way to get this done?

 

Also, Check with DBAs to know if something can be done from backend?

Occasional Advisor
LSantana
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
Message 11 of 12 (860 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

You need create a new Profile Database, set the new profile as DEFAULT, so you can delete the older profile.

Operation Manager, Network Node Manager, SiteScope and BSM - AIS Certificated Professional
Frequent Advisor
Gulbahar
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-18-2011
Message 12 of 12 (840 Views)

Re: How to remove the Profile Database from BAC?

Hi,

 

You need create a new Profile Database, set the new profile as DEFAULT .You can delete old Profile Database.

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.