Re: Getting started with SiteScope Newbie (359 Views)
Super Advisor
Graham Van der vaart_1
Message 1 of 4 (381 Views)

Getting started with SiteScope Newbie

Hi,

I'm brand new to SiteScope and just got it installed and ready for use.

Can somebody  give me the ABC's of monitoring a few remote servers...

I created a few remote Windows servers and the connectivity tested okay.

I then created a few monitors (cpu, disk, memory etc) and assigned in the monitor config to execute on one of the Windows remote servers that I  had created. The monitors executed okay.

Now I want to go the next level and create a monitor that can be deployed to multiple Windows remote servers. In other words I dont want to have to create individual monitors for each and every remote server.

I suppose that I should somehow use templates for this.

Without reading an entire series of pdf's can somebody provide a simple step by step instruction list on how to achieve this.

I read somewhere about using %%host%% (where is this setup?) but I then don't know how to call a variable for credentials (our environment has three domains and I therefore use 3 credentials for our three Windows domains). Or will I have to for example create three separate monitors for CPU (one per domain)?

Kind Regards

Graham

HP Expert
PatWest
Message 2 of 4 (359 Views)

Re: Getting started with SiteScope Newbie

Sit back and relax, while watching some of these Sitescope movies:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=sitescope+templates

Occasional Advisor
chanson
Message 3 of 4 (344 Views)

Here's a quick and dirty way to create a SiteScope template from scratch:

Prior to creating a template you should set up your remote server credentials in SiteScope's credential preferences so that you don’t have to enter credential variables in your template.

1. Create a Template Container:
a. In the Templates section of SIS, right-click on the SiteScope root icon (looks like a globe) and select New > Template Container.