Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error (1815 Views)
Reply
Honored Contributor
Hein van den Heuvel
Posts: 6,588
Registered: ‎05-19-2003
Message 26 of 32 (1,815 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

 

 

I failed to log in, after being gone for a month or more, and now Chorme is stuck in

"Bad Gateway

The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.:"

This is for anything requiring a sign-in ... reply, sign-in, ...

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/hpeb/hp_sso?action=login&hpappid=LITHIUM-2&redirectreason=notregistered&re...

 

 

I had to lower myself to use IE to write this reply.

 

As you pointed  out a month ago, clearly this is an HP software error as you pointed out a month ago.

Fix it already will ya?

And would you please stop enforcing your password requirements on me?!

 

>>  (Gimme me some kudos if so :)

'kudo's for knowing that it is broken, refusing to explain why, failing to get it fixed and a lame workaround. Ya right!

 

 

Honored Contributor
Bob Headrick
Posts: 2,944
Registered: ‎12-02-2001
Message 27 of 32 (1,810 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error


Hein van den Heuvel wrote:

 

I failed to log in, after being gone for a month or more, and now Chorme is stuck in

"Bad Gateway

The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.:"

This is for anything requiring a sign-in ... reply, sign-in, ...

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/hpeb/hp_sso?action=login&hpappid=LITHIUM-2&redirectreason=notregistered&re...

 

 

I had to lower myself to use IE to write this reply.

 

As you pointed  out a month ago, clearly this is an HP software error as you pointed out a month ago.

Fix it already will ya?

And would you please stop enforcing your password requirements on me?!

 

>>  (Gimme me some kudos if so :)

'kudo's for knowing that it is broken, refusing to explain why, failing to get it fixed and a lame workaround. Ya right!

 


I am having the same problem and it has been going on for nearly two months.  It will work in Chrome if I use the IE mode but frankly this is a pain that cuts down on my participation here. 

 

{-- If this helped click the Kudos star.

 

       Bob Headrick, Microsoft MVP Printing/Imaging

Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,063
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 28 of 32 (1,803 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

>I failed to log in, after being gone for a month or more, and now Chrome is stuck in "Bad Gateway

 

I had no end of problems with firefox 7.0.1.  I was using chrome as a workaround.

Then about two weeks ago, it went away!

 

>It will work in Chrome if I use the IE mode but frankly this is a pain that cuts down on my participation here.

 

Yes, I was also getting frustrated.

Community Manager
Kevin_Paul
Posts: 953
Registered: ‎09-16-2005
Message 29 of 32 (1,793 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

What version(s) of Chrome are you having problems with?  I've tried it several times this week and have not run into the Bad Gateway problems...

I work for HP.
Valued Contributor
D Hook1
Posts: 465
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
Message 30 of 32 (1,782 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

Look at the date of the first post of this thread.

 

This problem is STILL happening!

 

Maybe some people need to be making pizzas instead of running a website.

 

I still can only sign on in IE8 using a private browsing window.  Can't get on at all from Chrome or Firefox.  Keep getting the message about the server upstream, etc.

 

Makes me think twice about spending the $20k on the wide format printer/scanner combo I'm looking at.  Fortunately, we have excellent techs in our area instead of you guys.

 

What a joke.

Honored Contributor
Hein van den Heuvel
Posts: 6,588
Registered: ‎05-19-2003
Message 31 of 32 (1,769 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

[ Edited ]

>> What version(s) of Chrome are you having problems with?

I was using 6.0.472.63 (2010)

I just switched to 15.0.874.106 m

Seems to be working now.

That is, on [reply] it prompted for a sign-in and automatically continued to the reply page.

It even picked up the 'autosaved' reply I had started in IE at first, before trying a new Chrome. Nice!

 

btw... Using IE I got annoying 'display non-secure parts' and 'switching to non-secure.

If this works, then good ridance to that.

 

Edit:

And it looked like it worked, as it was used for this reply.. From profile:  Browser used for Last Visit

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.106 Safari/535.2.

 

But when I came back the same sh*t all over again. May I recommend you fine folks focus on functionality

and reliabilty and useabilty, instead of wasting time on following the latest crummy corporate look?!?!

 

Bad Gateway

The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.

 

Using Chrome 15.0.874.106

 

Fix the code, loose the crayons!

 

Hein.

 

Acclaimed Contributor
Dennis Handly
Posts: 25,063
Registered: ‎03-06-2006
Message 32 of 32 (1,748 Views)

Re: Problem Logging In - "Page Can't Be Displayed" Error

[ Edited ]

It looks like they fixed this in a complete different manner.  :-(

I got the HP passport page but it would refuse to take my login, no error message or anything.

If I gave something wrong, I got the appropriate error.

 

I'm not sure if the problem just went away or because I used the login form on HPSC instead of the Sign In link here.

Or because I restarted my firefox browser?

The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation.